Don’t forget to slurp!

October 19, 2011

Ya’ll, I’m pretty sure I have you to blame for this morning.  Remember my promise to see you at the gym at 5:30 this morning?  Sure enough, dawn saw me trudging my way through the chilly rain to get to the gym and do my cross training.  I will say though, it was nice to not feel exhausted half way through the day from a hard run, but still feel like I had done something.   Tomorrow is a 3 mile run and some strength training.  Lifting used to be my favorite part of fitness class in HS, so I’m pretty excited to get back into it.  I spent some time today looking up some lifting circuits to do and think I have a pretty solid line up, at least for round 1 😉  Tried out a few of the lifts at home and some of these puppies are gonna take some SERIOUS coordination.

So, I want to get into my kitchen creation from last night, but first – I HAD to share with you guys about my dinner tonight.  Despite the rainy dreary weather, we set out for the sushi place that is literally right down the road.  If it weren’t raining like it has been, we would’ve walked, but instead we drove – don’t judge!  This place is called Chiyo Sushi.   First off, some of you may be thinking that a few days ago, I told you I was favoring a vegetarian diet these days.  And you’d be right! So, how did I go to a sushi place??? Enter….

some of the best vegetable sushi I have EVER had.  Now… I am no sushi expert, but this plate of Vegetable Sushi Combo platter was amazing.  I mean, look at it all! It had some sort of yummy vegetable roll, asparagus roll, SQUASH roll (SQUASH AS SUSHI!? GENIUS!), Avocado, something I CANNOT pronounced, but it was pickled and delicious, a veggie tempura and a seaweed salad roll.  And with the soy sauce, wasabi and ginger, you still get the amazing salty gingery goodness that I LOVE about sushi to begin with – and I didn’t miss the fish one bit!

So sad to see it all gone 😦  But we have a groupon for this place and with it being right down the road, sushi may be happening a bit more often!   Wouldn’t making something like this be fun too??

And now that I have gotten that off my chest.  As promised…

Last night I hinted at how a tasty dinner can lead to inspiration and/or motivation in the kitchen.  I love how a good experience in the kitchen can provide the momentum for more delicious and healthy ideas.  That’s what happened to me after the heaven that was roasted asparagus.  Lately in the mornings I’ve been tempted to skip breakfast, which anyone will tell you, is a big no no.  5:30 is a little early for me to eat right away, especially with having to be constantly on the move to get out the door and give myself enough time at the gym.  Which doesn’t always lead to the most effective run, i’ve found and when I get back from the gym, I’m usually running around rushing to get ready for work and out the door again.  It doesn’t leave a lot of time for fueling before or after a workout, or for the day.  Usually I wolf down a small bowl of cereal while getting dressed, but last night I decided to try something different and whipped up a pumpkin banana smoothie.  I know I know, is it really possible that i’m only just NOW hopping on the smoothie train?  No, not really – but I never wanted or had time to make it in the morning, loud, messy and too much time.  Sadly, it never occurred to me that making them the night before and shoving them in the fridge (and in the case of last night a few in the freezer as well) would give me the same results.  Genius award, right here.  So this morning I sipped on a fresh smoothie when I got back from my workout and had it on hand for the rest of the morning as I got ready.  Delicious, healthy and easy.  I’ll take it.

Pumpkin Banana Smoothie:

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

2 bananas (1 frozen, 1 fresh – note: if you prefer more of a pumpkin flavor, nix one of the bananas)

generous helping of pumpkin pie spice

Maple Syrup (2 tbls ish?)

ice

Almond Milk

Flax Seed

Blend, freeze or fridge.  Or straight into a glass.  Yum.

Lets talk about the Flax seed for a second.  What the heck IS this stuff.  I have a big ol’ bag of it, because somewhere I read briefly that it was pretty darn good for you. So, tonight I looked it up.  Turns out it has a pretty long history, having been used in Ancient civilizations like Egypt.  Its also a pretty well used plant, the fibers are used a lot for the production cloth, again dating as far back as Ancient Egypt, being used for making linen. But that’s not why its good to throw into a smoothie.  According to the, and no i’m not joking about this, Flax Council of Canada – its pretty darn nutritious, saying the seeds are high in protein, Omega-3 fatty acids and fiber.  Apparently, research also shows that Flax seeds are a source for high amounts of something called Lignans – a phytoestrogen.   Without getting too geeky on you guys, these things are pretty cool, acting by binding to the Estrogen receptors (girly hormones, sorry boys, but these are good things).  Jury is still out though on whether or not there are any health benefits.  However, it seems that most of the benefits from the flax seeds in general comes from those Omega 3 fatty acids, more specifically the Alpha – linolenic acid or, ALA, which can also be found in things like Atlantic Salmon, Walnuts and a few other nut oils.  These guys are pretty important to incorporate into the diet, because our bodies can’t produce the ALA fatty acid, so we need to eat it to get it.  And getting it is something we want!  So go get some flax seeds and make a smoothie!   And with that, happy slurping.  I hear its the polite thing to do when eating soup in Japan 🙂

ps:  when’s the last time you looked someone in the eye and smiled as you walked past?  I challenge you to make someone’s day a little brighter tomorrow.

One Response to “Don’t forget to slurp!”


Leave a Reply

