Weekend Recap and a Monday without a title

October 24, 2011

Did everyone have a good weekend?  Mine was buuuuusy.   But busy is good, right?  I’m pretty proud of myself for sticking with the last two days of training for week one.  Saturday wasn’t so hard, took my book down to the gym and had a good bike workout for cross training – but not so intense that I couldn’t turn a few pages in the book i’ve been reading.  If you haven’t jumped on the David McCullough bandwagon yet, I highly recommend it.  I’m reading his biography on Theodore Roosevelt, Mornings on Horseback and the writing is far from dry and monotonous, like a lot of biographies can be.  I also got in a nice, steady and enjoyable (!?) “long run” outside.  I felt like I had the amazing fall morning all to myself.

Unfortunately, the downside to a fun and busy weekend is that I feel like I got absolutely NO sleep and of course, indulged a bit on food and sugar.  While I don’t feel guilty, exactly, I’m definitely feeling the physical consequences, sluggish, SUPER tired and just plain ol’ blah.  My training schedule calls for Mondays being a strength and stretch day, so I didn’t bother getting up early to go to the gym – especially since I wanted to take some time and learn a little more about putting together a lifting routine. Without having the benefit of some text books, I spent some time this afternoon learning about different muscle groups and the exercises that target those muscle groups.  When doing my lifting, since I’m only going to be doing it about twice a week, I decided to focus on some full body lifting circuits.  Where I did lifts that targeted more than one muscle groups at a time and tried to get a well-rounded workout.  That means targeting my legs (quads, hamstrings, gluts and calves), my arms (biceps and triceps), shoulders (deltoids all sorts of ways and the rotator cuff), and my core (abs and obliques).  There are a ton of different exercises to target these different muscle groups and today, I tried to hit a few for each major muscle, using just my limited dumbbell weights here at home (and believe me, by the time I was done, I was pretty sure I didn’t need anything else).  The last thing I did was make sure I snuck in a lower back exercise.  From what I read though, its pretty important to not push it on these, but still something important to have.   So here’s what I did:

Lifting Circuit

DB Squats (3×10):  Gluts, Quads, Hams

Dead lifts (3×10):  Hamstrings, Lower back

Pushups (3×10):  Back, delts and chest

Internal Rotation (3×10): rotary cuff

Single leg Calf Raises (3×10):  calves (duh?)

Side plank bridges (3×10):  Obliques

DB Bench Press (3×10): Chest

External Rotation (3×10):  rotator cuff

V-Ups (3×10): abs

Arnold Shoulder Press (3×10): anterior deltoid

DB flies (3×10): Posterior deltoid

Lat raises (3×10): Lateral deltoid

Curls (3×10):  Biceps

Tricep extensions (3×10): triceps

I know it looks like a lot – but I wanted to get the most out of my workout.  And lemme tell ya – my upper body is feelin it.  And those V-ups?  Yeah – these puppies almost had me cryin.  I’m not ashamed to admit it 🙂 I’m out of practice with lifting and its definitely a little harder when lifting from home – but so much nice when you can do your workout without having to bundle up and head out to the gym.

Not much on the food front to share with you tonight – we didn’t get grocery shopping in until this evening, so it was a simple veggie burger and homemade sweet potato fries kind of night.  I have a busy week with random guests showing up and then a parental unit visit for the weekend – which means I am planning menus! I think I have a pretty good one planned and it features a dessert recipe from one of my favorite blogs http://www.ohsheglows.com   But what I CAN leave you with tonight, are some pictures from my weekend, which included a play downtown, errands with my mom and dinner at my parents house.  My mom roasted some root veggies (wonder where I got it from…) and I roasted some asparagus (yes, again).  My dad grilled up some fish for the rest of the family and I noshed on a “chicken” cutlet that was breaded with some grueyere.  While I’m definitely trying more vegan recipes, I figured I’d take it easy on the fam for the night and let that slide a bit.  🙂 Dinner wasn’t anything insanely special, but it was at home and just what I needed.

happy almost Halloween!

Try as I might, my veggies NEVER look this good getting ready to be rinsed. Its a mom thing 🙂

because…who doesn’t need a reminder that sometimes happiness is in the little things.

xo

Leave a Reply

