Scenes from a Tuesday

November 15, 2011

Whew!   I love the feeling of finally catching up on LIFE.  I had a productive, but non-hectic day at work, which was great – because my throat is starting to get super scratchy and i’m a bit sniffly 😦  So the chance to sit and read some papers and finish up some things at work was truly appreciated.   Which is good, because tomorrow is going to be an early, long and busy day!

As promised, I have some fun things to share tonight!

First up:  DINNER! 🙂 Yum.  I made a simple, but fun, Buffalo “chicken” pasta recipe.

By simple, I mean super easy.

The Main Players:

Pasta (I used a combo of spaghetti and rigatoni, out of necessity, not creativity) – enough for however many you’re serving.  We made enough for dinner and lunch for both of us tomorrow.

Franks Original Hot Sauce:  To taste

Meatless Chicken (you’re preference)

Bleu Cheese:  To taste

Frozen Spinach:  about a scant cup

Here’s where it gets hard!  Boil the pasta to about al dente.  Mix together all of the ingredients and layer into a baking dish.  Cover with foil and bake @ 350 F for 20 minutes, remove foil and bake for additional 10 minutes.

This was a pretty quick and easy meal to make on a busy weeknight, but its definitely not something I’d make a lot.  This feels a bit more to me like a Friday night bar food meal.   I think in the future too, I’d stick to a single kind of pasta, (I prefer the Rigatoni style).  It could be fun to mix this up a bit and add some homemade bread crumbs on top or switch out the chicken for some ground veggie “beef”.  Sort of like a grown up hamburger helper meal.

I also spent some time this evening prepping for tomorrow night’s baking extravaganza!

  Pretty AND Delish.  Win.

Its my co-worker’s birthday, so I’m making her some homemade gingerbread men/leaves/turkey cookies.  The dough needs to chill for at least an hour and can go for up to 2 days.  Tomorrow is already going to be a bit crazy, so I made the dough tonight, using a recipe from Smittenkitchen (http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/12/spicy-gingerbread-cookies/)  I also think I’m going to top them with a spicy Gingerbread frosting from allrecipes.com (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/gingerbread-frosting-for-cookies/detail.aspx).  I dont quite feel comfortable enough yet to make up my own baking recipes.  Aside from some cooking classes (which I am absolutely going to do in my future), does anyone have any recommendations for some sources that explain the ratios of baking and why you need them?? I feel like understanding WHY  you need your ingredients, will be important for knowing which to use.

In addition to all of that kitchen time, I finally got my butt back to the gym and had a GREAT workout.  If you remember, I was pretty disappointed last Thursday with my 3 mile run.  So tonight I was determined to get back to it.  I ran a great (for me) time of 3.1 miles in 28:49  and finished off with a total of 4.5 miles in 42:00.   I am really proud of myself for my run, not only for pushing through the mental block of running for that long (sans TV), but for pushing through increasing mile paces and running full miles at 6 mph, 6.5 mph and 7.0 mph, and back to 6.5 mph for the last 1.5 miles.  Definite personal bests for me tonight.  My 5k Turkey Trot is next week, so I’m starting to get a little nervous.   Eek!   But it felt SO good to get back into the groove.

And so, with that I conclude my Tuesday.  But first!

Today I was grateful for:  A less hectic day when I needed it most.  My throat still feels scratchy and I’m sneezing more now than earlier, but I’m glad I didn’t have to add on a crazy hectic day on top of that.  Instead, I had the chance to relax a bit, rest and drink a lot of fluids.

Last but not least – a few pictures from my weekend, taken with a REAL CAMERA!!!

Sweet dreams!

xo

2 Responses to “Scenes from a Tuesday”

  1. candicepeak Says:

    I love your animals! So adorable!

    • krhtoday Says:

      Aren’t they the sweetest? Sadly, I can’t lay claim to these two – they’re my friend’s. But we have two adorable cats, I’ll have to put some more pictures up of them as I play around with this new camera! 🙂


Leave a Reply

