Scenes from a Sunday

December 12, 2011

Well, last night I promised to let you know how my first attempt at homemade tomato soup went.  Happily, I am here to report, that it was a resounding success. With a few little hiccups.   This soup is NOT for the weak of heart when it comes to keeping the kitchen clean.

Seriously kids, do NOT try it this way at home.

#1.  When trying to make a nice creamy soup out of a chunky tomato based starting point, do NOT use an immersion blender. It will in fact result in red splatter all over the freshly cleaned stove top.  DO, wear an apron and use a blender instead.    Rules to live by? ALWAYS WEAR AN APRON WHEN WORKING WITH ANYTHING TOMATO BASED.  You can thank me later.

#2.  The above pot of hot mess, eventually, with the proper love and tenderness, WILL in fact turn into something delicious:

YUM!

This soup was pretty easy to make, a little messy and absolutely perfect for a cold Sunday night, not to mention for leftovers at lunch the next day 🙂

Roasted Tomato Bisque:

For this soup I browsed around a few different recipes and came up with this first try version.

2, 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes, drained (keep the juice)

1 yellow onion

2-3 cloves garlic

1 stalk of celery

basil (optional)

V8

vegetable stock (Maybe 1-1.5 cups?)

milk (optional)

Parmesan cheese (1/4 cup? or to taste)

To Make: 

Drain the tomatoes (don’t forget to reserve the juice!) and spread out on a sprayed baking sheet.  Add a little salt and pepper and two cloves of garlic (smashed or whole) and roast at about 400.  I did this for probably 15-20 minutes or so, until you could really start to smell the tomato’y flavor.  While roasting, I saute’d the onions and celery together in a soup pot and when the tomato/garlic mix was done roasting, added that to the pot.  Next I put in the drained tomato juice and vegetable stock and added a healthy splash of the V8.  I like to think this adds to the health factor of the soup, but probably just wishful thinking eh? 🙂  I also added the parm cheese here.  I really enjoy adding parm to my tomato based sauces/soups, because I love the deep flavor it gives to the dish (does that make any sense??).  It arguably takes away from the healthiness of the soup, but also is a nice treat to add in on those nights you just need to warm up.  I let all of this simmer together for another 15-20 minutes or so.  And now, here comes the fun part. blending.  Like I mentioned above, I tried my immersion blender first.  While, this usually works for me (I make a pretty awesome Creamy Roasted Eggplant and Garlic soup), I found with this soup, it wasn’t the best.  I kept getting tomato soup spit up on me and the walls and the stove…and the floor…yeah…  So after a round of giggles, I opted for carefully adding the soup to my blender and pulsing it together until it was just creamy.  There were still some small chunks of the veggies, so it wasn’t quite Campbell’s style, but I loved it all the same.  The word creamy can be a little misleading here, this soup wouldn’t need any milk at all to give it its creamy texture. I added a splash of nonfat to add a little bit more and just out of habit, but it definitely doesn’t need it.   I’m excited to play around with this recipe a bit (add croutons? mushrooms?  curry?), but love that it can taste pretty good as just a classic.

Garnish with some garlic bread and a glass of red wine and you have a fantastic Sunday night.

Even the beast approved. (Apparently, my 8k wiped him out yesterday...)

 

xo

Leave a Reply

