Monday Monday

December 19, 2011

Lets see:  My weekend was super productive

Christmas cards – signed, sealed and sent

DMV – new license, check.  Organ donor, check.  🙂

Christmas shopping – all but done.  This year I’m feeding my vintage/retro/thrifty/DIY obsession and have been searching through my favorite consignment and antique shops and knitting with my Knifty Knitter Loom.  I love how unique a vintage or antiquey gift can be and at a great price.  But I’m curious, when it comes to shopping for gifts do you like to hit up consignment and antique shops to find something unique or do you stick to the major stores?

Work – check annnnnd check.

Christmas Biscotti?! DEFINITELY Going into some gift bags for the work friends.  I’ll post the recipes later this week, but I’m really loving the Cranberry Pistaschio Biscotti I made.  It was my first attempt at any biscotti and its insanely easy.  A lot easier than I expected.  My only casualties were a wooden spoon and a sugar pouring mishap…oops.  🙂  And of course, the selfless biscotti that sacrificed themselves for the taste testing job.

Homemade Veggie Soup – Another post it later recipe, but this baby was chock full of fresh veggies and tasted amazing on a cold night.

The only thing I didn’t get to on my weekend to do list was to get out for a run.  I really wanted to take advantage of the daytime and get outside.  Turns out I was just too busy and too tired by the end of the day on Sunday.  We’ll just call it a full week’s rest, eh?

In that spirit, I woke up this morning with the mantra “Not going isn’t an option”.  And I went.  I was really glad I went but didn’t get that endorphin rush that I usually do. I put in a good three mile run and worked on some speed.  I have a particular time goal Iwant to consistently break for the 5k mark and am using that as my general training goal until I decide if I want to go for the half marathon or not.   I’m waffling on this guys.  Has anyone else out there ran a few races, started training and then struggle once a race is over to work up the goal to train for a longer distance?  I’m definitely motivated to keep running, but need that extra push to sign up for the next big race.

So I am back to knitting – I’ve got a hard Christmas deadline 😉

I hope everyone had just as a productive weekend as I did!! Its a short week this week 🙂  I’m determined to be cheerful for the entire week and head into the Holidays with all smiles 🙂  Can’t wait to share my biscotti and Veggie soup recipes and tonight’s new try of a Thai Pizza.  🙂

xo

Leave a Reply

