Winter, exposed

January 9, 2012

Wow.  How many personalities does this weather have?  I was without a jacket on Saturday and today it snowed on my way home from work – yikes!  I’m super glad I got my run in this morning at the gym before work.  Getting up at 5:30 isn’t my favorite, but it sure beats leaving a warm apartment to head out into the snow!

Happily though, I was able to get out and enjoy that weather this weekend while it lasted and worked my way through a short run on Saturday morning.  I say short, because I literally cannot tell you how far I ran.  It can’t have been that far, and it was probably a little over 1.5 miles.  I was running, for less than 20 minutes, and I felt great.  It took me about 30 seconds into my run, to realize, running for a workout wasn’t gonna happen.  I loosened up a bit and just enjoyed the fact that it was sunny, warm and I was outside enjoying it.

I was so happy with my weekend, I got to go for my run, see my friends, do some kitchen experiments,  cleaning and organizing…

All skeins of yarn are successfully... balled (?)

and finally take that hike.

Some people wouldn’t see the point in going out for a trail hike in the middle of winter, but growing in PA, I really learned to love seeing the earth exposed and all of the browns of winter.  To me, winter can be an equally beautiful season as its more picturesque counterparts.   When I was younger, my dad quoted the following and its always stuck…

“I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure of the landscape – . 

the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter…

 Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn’t show.”

Andrew Wyeth

xo

One Response to “Winter, exposed”

  1. andy1076 Says:

    There really is something about going for a stroll in the winter, a comfy feeling to it 🙂 love the photos!


Leave a Reply

