Its snack time!

January 12, 2012

On days that I get up early (ok, most days – really), its pretty unlikely that I can make it through work without a few snacks to tide me over – even though I try to keep my lunch full of fiber and protein, it would never hold me over.  I’m no expert, but I think if you’re mindful about when and how much you snack on and are sure to get have nutritious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner – noshing throughout the day is perfectly acceptable!  Almost everyday I have at least 2 snacks with me.  Like today,

See?

Lately I’ve been loving up on this Greek style yogurt for kids, by Chobani.  It comes in some fun flavors (mine is the berry flavor, but I am keeping an eye out for that Chocolate chunk vanilla) and is a great snack portion for me at 100 calories.   To make it a little more interesting, I usually add a handful of flax flake cereal, mixed with some cocoa pebbles (if I have the box, I might as well use it up, right??).   Eventually I’d like to switch back over to regular Greek yogurt from a larger tub, to save money and cut back on the plastic cups.   It’d also be a great way to cut back the 13 grams of sugar in the kids yogurt to 7 grams.  But with as healthy as I try to eat, I’m not going to worry too much about it just yet  🙂

My other snack today was a Coconut Cream Pie Lara bar.  Brandon was sweet enough to hunt down a whole BOX of these puppies for Christmas and I’m pretty sure I squealed.  These things are seriously delicious and by far my favorite of the Lara bar flavors so far. I really like that the almonds in these bars aren’t all ground up, so you can really crunch through a snack.    Sadly, these guys are definitely in the “rare treat” category, because they’re not cheap, so I try to have other snacks on hand and save these for snacking on before or after a big run.    But with only 5 ingredients, these are definitely on  my list of recipes I want to recreate.  But until then…

Here are some other snack ideas I like to rotate through:

Fresh Fruit.

Nothing beats an orange in the middle of winter and I love throwing a banana into my bag when I feel like I could use some extra Potassium.  In the summer, fresh berries are great alone or thrown into some plain yogurt.

 Almond butter and ____________

So, I have a confession.  Is everyone sitting down for this??? I don’t really like peanut butter… <insert collective gasp here>.  Its ok though, because I found a great alternative.  I’ll leave PB to Brandon, because I love me some almond butter.  I could eat this on apples, bananas, celery or carrots and be happy.

 Hummus and ___________

Ok, so this one is pretty simple.  HUMMUS is one of those “use my finger to scrape the sides of the Tupperware” type snacks for me.  I like this one a little better with carrots vs. celery personally.  Its also REALLY good with some homemade crackers.   I love the base recipe from www.ohsheglows.com and with success on my first try a few months back, I’m itchin’ for round 2!

 Oatmeal

This one is a little out there, but sometimes, a packet of good hearty oatmeal is enough to tide me over until my next meal.  Personally, I’d spend the money on a good brand of oatmeal with lots of protein and fiber and not a lot of ingredients you can’t pronounce.  Or, you could always make your own 😉

Smoothies!

Everyone knows and loves the milkshake’s (sometimes) healthier cousin!  I love how much variety smoothies can have and they’re SUPER convenient.  Make them on a Sunday night and freeze in individual portions, nab one out of a freezer in the morning and pop it in the fridge.  Voila! Healthy, delicious snack, without laying down the bucks to buy one.  In the fall, I’m all about pumpkin smoothies mixed with some banana.  And its pretty hard to beat a PB and banana smoothie.  Yum!

And there you have it! Five of my favorite snack foods to help tide me over until dinner time (with the occasional sweet treat thrown in on days I just can’t hold out – nobody’s perfect 🙂 ).  So tell me, what are some of your favorite ways to hold your hunger at bay until the next big meal? Do you snack, or are there some fancy tricks I don’t know about??

Ps:  congrats to Candice over at http://candicepeak.wordpress.com/ for getting an award for her blog!! (and thanks for the shout out 🙂 )  Her posts are fun to read and are great at motivating a gal! Be dears and check her out before you go!

 

xo

One Response to “Its snack time!”

  1. andy1076 Says:

    I gotta be honest, i’m not a big fan of Larabars 😦 when they first came out i found them too dry for my tastes 😦

    Now, Hummus! that i REALLY enjoy lol! 😀


Leave a Reply

