Tasty Tuesday!

February 7, 2012

So.  Um. 

This was only insanely delicious tonight.

What you are looking at my friends, is my personal twist on a veggie burger.    B and I enjoy veggie burgers a lot.  They’re a quick and pretty healthy meal for any night of the week.  The only problem, is they can get a little old stuck between the same two slices of bread and fixings.  Enter, creativity.

A lot of the veggie burgers i’ve been enjoying lately have a nice spicy flavor to them.  So I decided to try and replicate.  The result?

A chipotle veggie burger panini  

I know I know, they’re not really  paninis, because, well A) they’re not Italian and B) they’re not made with a bread roll, or ciabatta bread.  They’re made with some Whole Wheat Flat bread rounds that have a really nice flavor and texture – perfect for individual sized “paninis”  🙂

My crowning glory for these puppies is two-fold.

1.  That ooey gooey delicious orange sauce oozing out.  That, is my home made chipotle(ish?) sauce, adapted from leftover spicy taco sauce I made (all about the re-purposing!)

2.  The inclusion of these:

These pickles are insane!  They’re a sweeter pickle, which normally I don’t care for – but they’re pickled with hot peppers and other herbs/spices – and are GOOD. They’ve definitely got a kick to them, perfect for my paninis.

Chipotle(ish) Veggie Burger Paninis

2 slices bread for panini (any will do, but we like Smart & Delicious 100% Whole Wheat Flatbread)

1 veggie burger (Tonight I used one of my personal favs., the garden burger)

1-2 slices Mozzarella cheese

Onion slivers, lightly caramelized

Handful of Spinach

3-4 Wickles Pickles slices

Homemade Chipotle(ish) Sauce

   Greek yogurt

   1/2 Jalapeno pepper, deseeded and diced

   1-2 garlic cloves, minced

   Franks Hot Sauce – a few healthy dashes (aka to taste)

   ~1/2 tsp smoked paprika

   1 tsp (or less if its too spicy) Chipotle Pepper Adobo Sauce (I used the sauce from an open can of Chipotle peppers I had)

   A dash or two of liquid smoke

   1 tsp sweet relish

   1 tbsp ketchup

Just prepare the veggie burgers according to their packaging.  I pan seared mine while caramalizing the onion strips in the same pan. Lightly brush the outside of each slice of bread and assemble the sandwich. I know there are some schmancy panini makers out there, but my foreman grill works just great for this!  Just cook until the cheese is melty and stringing apart and enjoy!

YUM!

These guys had just enough heat and were so delicious.  Makes my mouth water just thinking about it! Saving some for lunch tomorrow may have been my best idea yet…

Hope everyone’s Tuesday was as tasty as mine!

xo

3 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday!”

  1. Marcy Says:

    Yummy! Will be trying this!

  2. Candice Says:

    Hi! I tagged you in an “11 Things” blog post. Check it out at 5:15pm Eastern!

    PS that food looks yummy!


Leave a Reply

