Mr. Sandman has gone M.I.A.

February 8, 2012

Its Wednesday, right? I think?  Maybe?

Is anyone else having a hard time sleeping lately?  I don’t get it, I’m working out more, getting more done in my day and I still have yet to fall asleep at a decent enough hour to not feel like a zombie gym rat in the morning (scary thought).  Yesterday I was a bumbling mass on the treadmill and for 4 miles just could NOT get my rhythm down.  4 long.stumbly.miles.   I need sleep, ya’ll. Or at least, to sleep better.

So.  I’m trying to figure out just why I’m not sleeping so hot and I came across this article on fitsugar.com that highlighted a few potential culprits.

1.  Too much Caffeine:  Is this even possible?  I kid..I kid…They say you shouldn’t have caffeine 8-9  hours before planning to go to sleep.  Which means I should stop sipping that coffee or tea by noon.  Which makes sense, by lunch time I try to switch over to water or herbal tea for the rest of the day.  But I’ve been known to gulp down 3-4 cups in a morning (Grad school does strange things to people…strange things). So this week, in both an attempt to reset AND sleep better.  I have officially stopped myself at 2 cups of coffee a DAY.  I still will sneak in a cup of black tea every now and again in the morning, but never caffeine in the afternoon.   The other possibility is all of those 1 or 2 a day mini chocolate bars I had indulged in last week, in the afternoon.  Chocolate has enough caffeine to mess with a system – so i’m working on cutting that back.

2. Staying up late and sleeping in on weekends:   We all know its best to keep on a fairly regular time schedule for your internal clock.  While I am guilty of extending my sleeping hours just a tad on the weekends, lets keep in mind that sleeping in for me is 6:30-7:00 AM.  Its rare that I’ll sleep past 7 and am never still in bed after 8.  I figure on days that it does happen, my body needed the rest.  And let’s get real.  I’m a loser and tend to pass out on the couch by 10 pm on Friday nights anyhow 🙂

3. Technology:  Too much stimulation!  Computer screens, phones, TVs oh my!  While I do try for at least 15-30 minutes of mental downtime before bed, lately that down time has been while I’m IN bed.  There’s just so much to do in one night!  A great help with this has been my goal to keep reading books consistently.  While this is still mental stimulation – its at least a way for me to relax a bit mentally before closing my eyes for an 8 hr nap.  I’ve also tried to do some stretching every night, especially just before bed.  Sun salutations have really helped me unwind physically and I always need more reasons to remind myself to stretch!

4. Not enough exercise:  Pass.

5.  Bedroom is too bright or noisy: I will concede that when I go to bed before B, lights and noises will get to me fairly quickly. If I can make out words from the TV, my mind simply cannot shut off from listening and picking out the sentences that are forming.  HOWEVER, sometimes I wish we had a little more white noise.  If I could fall asleep to pouring rain and thunderstorms each night I’d be a happy happy girl.

6.  Drinking too much: Happily, this one isn’t an issue for me.  I am all for enjoying a glass of wine, cocktail or an ice cold beer.  But I try to keep my alcohol drinking to special occasions and weekends only.

7.  Stress:  Hmmmm, not like I have any of THAT in my life.  Last week was an especially stressful week for me, I put a lot of pressure on myself personally and as a result am very rarely satisfied. Definitely a goal for the long term.

 

Looking at some of these, I can definitely see a few trouble spots that are worth working on.  Both from an overall healthy viewpoint and a “PLEASE LET ME SLEEP” call for help.

 

Who’s got some tips for getting back on the sleeping bandwagon?  Any tricks for getting yourself to relax and finally fall asleep??

xo

Leave a Reply

