Totally Tasty Together

February 28, 2012

Lets see:

5 mile run, BEFORE work  – check (!!!!!!!!)

Solid day at work – check

Preparation for gym/work tomorrow – check

Pickles and brussel sprouts – check…. eh? 

 

Ever have one of those random meals, where you accidentally make something that’s delicious?

That was tonight’s meal for me.

This week is all about getting the perishables out of the fridge for our 4 day weekend.  Which sometimes requires a little creativity.  Extra squash, zucchini and onion?  No problem, zucchini “crab” cakes and some baked onion and zucchini rings.  Tasty, but not the star of the plate. Oh no.  That honor goes to my beloved brussel sprouts on the right.   I have a big ol’ bag of brussel sprouts and I’m lucky that a) I love brussel sprouts and b) they don’t go bad too quickly.  Normally I just slice them in half and saute them with a little bit of salt.  But tonight, I wanted something with a little more flavor.  What I ended up with may not be traditional, but somehow tastes amazing.

When I started out with these, I had a craving for something with a little bit of tangyness to it, maybe a bit of a bite – but none of my condiments had the right smell to them.  Ketchup, BBQ sauce, a various assortment of salad dressings, a smorgasbord of A1 sauces, so on and so on and so on.  Until my eyes rested back  on these:

remember these?

image source

Pickles! Spicy pickles!  But tangy, with a little bit of sweet.  I may be crazy – but it sounded perfect.  Besides, its my kitchen, so why not??!!

 So I chopped some up with a bit of red onion and threw it all into the pan to saute together with the sprouts.  The result?

AMAZING.

I wish I had made more to eat tomorrow.  I’m hungry just thinking about them.  And sort’ve surprised that the combination worked as well as it did, but it was a perfect way to jazz up some veggies for my plate.    At this rate I’m going to work my way through these pickles faster than I’d like 😦

Tomorrow’s goals:  Work on some Hill intervals for XT, another solid day of work, prep for dinner and head out to YOGA!!! (fingers crossed I keep the times straight in my head…)

Ever have one of those random food combinations that sounds kind of weird, but turns out to be pretty awesome instead?

xo

Leave a Reply

