Leftovers for Lunch

March 7, 2012

“To eat is a necessity, but to eat intelligently is an art.”
—La Rochefoucauld (source)

One of my favorite games to play in the kitchen is figuring out how to repurpose my leftovers for new dinners or healthy lunches.  It’s a great way to not waste food, stay creative, save money and add some variety to your meals, without having a fridge full of different things.

This week, since we have a short week at home, not having a full fridge was ideal.  So I’ve been playing around with how to make different lunches with a baked pizza quinoa casserole I found a recipe for last week and doctored up (read: add more veggies) for dinner.  Although good on its own, I found that for a meal, it probably needed a little more to go with it.  Yesterday I paired it with a naked “chik’n” cutlet for a makeshift chicken parm lunch.  But today’s simple meal was delicious and healthy and tops the list as my new favorite way to eat this casserole (although, I’m dying to try again with a pie crust).

voila!

Simple, right?   A quick and easy pizza quinoa whole wheat wrap.  The wrap gave it just enough extra to help me feel satisfied for the afternoon (with of course, a snack in the afternoon 😉 ).  Not only that, but just changing how the meal is presented (i.e. as a wrap, vs a casserole) has completely changed the dish for me, so I don’t feel like I’m stuck eating the same thing 3 days in a row.  Groundbreaking?  Not really.  But sometimes its important to remember that healthy and tasty don’t have to be high tech or fancy.

Have a favorite way to switch up the leftovers routine?

xo

Leave a Reply

