Healthy Habits

March 8, 2012

I think its safe to say that in the past few months I’ve picked up a number of good habits.

For instance.

Last year at this time, I would’ve laughed if you said “you’ll be eating breakfast every morning”.

Now I can’t imagine going without it.  Especially my beloved oatmeal.   I wasn’t able to make my baked oatmeal this morning, but tried out something new (to me), making a bowl of Overnight Oats.   This involves minimal prep (mix most of the ingredients the night before – shove it in the fridge) and feels a little healthier to me, because there’s not all the extra sugar involved.

Last night I mixed up a combo of steel cut and rolled oats with half of a mashed banana, a sprinkling of blueberries and chia seeds and added almond milk.  To top it off this morning, I mixed in a small bit of cinnamon raisin swirl PB (OH MY GOSH – if you haven’t tried this, hop on the PB train and DO IT) and a drizzle of maple syrup.   The oats absorbed a good amount of the milk over night, but not so much that I had to add more in the morning.  The texture gave me just enough to chew and feel like I was eating something, rather than swallowing a bowl of regular oatmeal.   After a weekend of starchy breakfasts, having a bowl of healthy oatmeal this morning was amazing.

 

I’m hooked!

Another habit?  Going to classes, ON MY OWN, at the gym.  The on my own thing, is a big enough step for me mentally.  But the benefits of the classes have been awesome.  After 3 Body Combat classes, I feel stronger and so much more mentally confident – if that makes any sense.  And after only 2 yoga classes, I’ve noticed my posture has really started to get better (I think lifting has a big part to do with this also…).  Last night’s Yoga session at the gym, was relaxing, but challenging at the same time – and it felt so good to have an hour of dedicated stretching time, something I am NOT good at doing on my own.

Finally, I’ve been starting to CRAVE those runs each day.  If I miss my morning run/workout, I feel sluggish and annoyed with myself for skipping out.  I almost always try to make up for the workout in the evening if I don’t.  This morning, I hit the gym a little later than normal, but was determined to get my 5 miles in.  I was pretty drowsy, so I did allow myself the compromise of “Get in 3 miles, stop after that if you want”.  I knew though, once I was on that treadmill, if I made it to 3 miles, I would make it to 5.  Because I got to the gym a little later than I wanted to this morning, and I’m still slooowwwwwww – I used this morning’s workout for speed intervals.  I have my eyes set on achieving a consistent 9 minute mile pace, to inch my way towards breaking that 27 minute 5k time (I know, I’m slow) – my ultimate goal is to run 8 minute miles pretty consistently by the Fall.  So for this morning’s workout I tried out the following:

Mile Marker

Distance (approximately)

Speed (Approximately)

1

0.5 miles

6.0-6.2 mph (10 min mile)

0.3 miles

6.5 mph

0.1 mile

7.0 mph (8:34 min mile)

0.1 mile

7.5 mph (8 min mile)

2

0.5 miles

6.0-6.2 mph (10 min mile)

0.2 miles

6.5 mph

0.2 miles

7.0 mph

0.1 miles

7.5 mph

3

0.5 miles

6.2 mph

0.2 miles

6.5 mph

0.3 miles

7.0 mph

4

0.5 miles

6.2 mph

0.1 miles

6.5 mph

0.3 miles

7.0 mph

0.1 miles

7.5 mph

5

0.5 miles

6.0-6.2 mph

0.1 miles

6.5 mph

0.2 miles

7.0 mph

0.2 miles

7.5 mph

With this workout, I rounded out my 5 mile time at a SWEATY 46:11.  Normally I would’ve liked to walk out to an even 50 minutes, but with my time crunch to get ready for work, I had to settle for the walk back to my apartment instead.  It seems a little hodge-podge, but the basic gist was my trying to get an idea of what an 8 or 9 minute mile pace felt like and start to build up my endurance.  The goal is to add a little more distance (or time) each time I do a speed interval workout, so I eventually feel more comfortable at the paces.    I was super sweaty at the end and really glad for that bowl of oatmeal when I got home 😉  Since then, I’ve been burning through every single morsel of food I’ve eaten.   Gotta find a new way to fill up!  I hit up my 4th Body combat class tonight – super excited for a new track.  And tomorrow is FRIDAY!

Share your speed interval workouts!  I love mixin’ it up!

xo

4 Responses to “Healthy Habits”

  1. thebestme4me Says:

    I love oatmeal too! Start every day with it and did an entire entry … “Ode to Oatmeal”! So glad you’ve been reformed to a breakfast eater!

  2. Dominick S. Says:

    Great post, thanks for the breakfast ideas!


Leave a Reply

