New goals

April 3, 2012

Well.  The race is over and I’m starting to come down from that post-run daze.   The one where you feel like “um…what do I do with myself now?”

It feels pretty strange to have put so much dedication and emotional effort into training for something, that to not have it there anymore, is different.  As much as I hated getting up before 6 in the morning, I enjoyed the self-imposed structure in my life.

Not running feels weird.   Sleeping feels nice.  So what’s a girl to do???

b10 Header 2012 Temp

 

That.

I have some other goals that I’m not quite ready to bring up yet, but for now – this will be an awesome interim race.  I’ve modified a training plan from my go to Hal Higdons and luckily, timing works out that training starts next Monday, which I’ll share later this week.  Its funny, even though I just ran 13.1 miles, I’m back to the pre-training jitters of “wow, 10 miles, can I do that??”.  I am nothing, if not a creature of habit.  🙂

I did sneak out for a quick and easy 2 miler or so after work, which felt good both physically AND mentally.   Knowing that I can get myself out there for an easy run without having a schedule telling me to is a big accomplishment.  I can’t forget I have other goals for this year that don’t include a distance, but rather speeds and getting faster and achieving those goals is going to take more than upping my mileage each week.

So there you have it.  The next goal is in sight.  A fun 10 miler.  I think this time I may try to focus on increasing my speeds a bit more.  I know I can handle the distance, I’d like to add another facet to my running.

hate to chat and run, but this girl has got stuff to do before heading to bed!

Happy almost middle of the week 🙂   Who else is training for another race right now?? Anyone in Baltimore running this?

xo

Leave a Reply

