Healthier = happier happier = healthier

April 18, 2012

Last night was 1 part “pity me” 1 part giving myself a stern talking to.  But I promised you (and myself) that I would start my changes IMMEDIATELY, because complaining does no good, if you make no attempts to fix what’s bothering you, right?

So it started with the kitchen.  I’ve always said how strong the connection is between what I eat and how I feel.  For instance, last week we had a lot of starchy dinners and I ended up taking those in for lunches at work most days.  Which means my daily “greens” intake was minimal.  Not good.  A few weeks ago, I started drinking daily versions of “green monsters”.  Which is a scary name for “smoothie with spinach”.  After a week straight of a spinach smoothie and salads everyday, going to no spinach cold turkey was ROUGH.  I just felt heavy, sluggish and lethargic.  I didn’t want to do anything physical and that really shows in my training efforts last week.  So this week, I’ve switched back to salads for lunch and some less starchy dinners.  So, after my temper tantrum yesterday evening, I hopped back into the kitchen to start with a healthy dinner.

It started with this...

Moved onto this...

And finished with this!! Yummmm

Veggie stir fry with tempeh in a Almond Miso sauce over bulgur wheat!  I’ve never cooked with Miso paste before, but after tonight’s adventure, you can bet your bottom dollar I’ll be using it again.  This sauce was a perfect topping for the stir fry and the bulgur wheat kept it a little lighter than had I used brown rice (of which we had none anyhow…).  I ripped the recipe out of one of my maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaany cooking/food magazines and its definitely a keeper!  I really liked how the nuttiness of the tempeh and almond sauce played off of each other and i’m not sure how tofu would hold up in this dish.

After a healthy dinner (ok and a sliver of homemade banana bread…) it was a little too late for the gym for me, but I didn’t want to let the day go by without really trying to get my heart rate up.  So I took advantage of http://www.fitsugar.com and their free fitsugar workouts on fittv.  I went through 2 whole body circuits that incorporated dumbbells and some cardio style moves to get your heart rate up.  It wasn’t a running workout by any means, but it definitely was better than giving up for the night!

And with last night out of the way – lets talk about today!

Getting out of bed was NOT fun, but I was awake.  And I knew that if I didn’t hit the gym in the AM, I’d spend the rest of the day beating myself up for it.  I thought about going for my 4 miler that I missed yesterday morning, but then decided that the healthier thing to do mentally was to STOP focusing on what I had missed and start focusing on the present and what I had left to accomplish.  If I spend my entire time obsessing over what I haven’t done, it can’t be very good for me.  It sounds so negative, doesn’t it?  So I chose to stay on track with my training schedule for the week and hit the treadmill for a 3 mile interval run.  Even though I didn’t mess around with the incline intervals too much, I did toggle back and forth between low incline and no incline while upping my speed.  I rounded out my run in 26:34, continuing to bring down that average pace.  My goal is to have a faster “warm up” speed, so I can get more comfortable at the faster speeds.  I’m pretty short, so at some point, my legs will only be able to move so fast!  Although, I’ve heard that shorter tiny little strides are better than longer strides.  Anyone have a preference?

We were nursing a sick kitty last night, so this morning I gave him some extra snuggles and jetted off to work for a long (still not over!) day.  Thankfully I’ve gotten my workout out of the way this morning and have tacos waiting for me for when I get home.  🙂  Even though tonight’s usually my Yoga night, I’m going to forgo the class, for the sake of time.  Although for the sake of mental sanity, I may throw a few poses in on my own time before bed.

ps – those whole body circuits I fit in last night?  I’m feeling them in my hamstrings for SURE.  They were a fun way to sweat a little bit, without having to work my way to the gym and fit in a full cardio blasting workout.  Definitely will be enjoying them a little more.  Who else has used “at home” workouts before? 

xo

2 Responses to “Healthier = happier happier = healthier”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    Oh my goodness that tempeh looks amazing! For at home workouts, I suggest the iphone app Nike Training Club. It is completely free but I have no idea why because it is fabulous.


Leave a Reply

