When KRH is away…

April 30, 2012

Hi All!

Today I’m busy off gallivanting through the lovely Niagara Falls in chilly Canada 😀 But instead of leaving everyone hangin’ for a week, I’ve asked a few of my friends to talk about some of the ways that THEY keep healthy.

Let me introduce you to my friend, Lil.  This girl is probably one of my favorite people in Baltimore.  She’s been an amazing friend through all of the ups and downs of the last year and to top it off, she’s the one who finally convinced me to join a gym and start taking some of the classes as a compliment to my training.  She’s a self-proclaimed gym crazy and she was nice enough to agree to talk about how she got there.  Take a read and leave her some love!

Hello, Katie asked me to submit some entries to her blog while she is away on her honeymoon.  I hope that I can live up to her expectations.  First of all, let’s all congratulate Brandon and Katie on their marriage and wish then many long years of happiness.  OK, enough of all that mushy stuff.  I am honored that Katie asked me to write something for this blog.  Be kind, I am new to this.  So here goes:

 

            I began reflecting on how and when I started working out.  When I graduated from college and started my first job in scientific research, I participated in a study where I needed to exercise and keep track of that exercise, so I bought a stationary bike and made up my own plan.   I worked out until the study ended, and then I stopped, not because I no longer wanted to exercise but “life” got in the way.  My mother was diagnosed with ovarian cancer and I was planning a wedding.  That was one stressful year, ugh!

 

            Two years later, my husband and I welcomed our first son.  After a few months, I actually weighed less than I did before I got pregnant.  It was not healthy though.  I lost weight because I was exhausted.  Nine months later, I found out I was pregnant again.  And my daughter was born in October.  It took me two years to lose that pregnancy weight.  During that time, I bought an exercise DVD and worked out in my basement when I had the time.  And, as soon as I lost the weight I gained with that second pregnancy, I found out there was going to be another addition to our family.  Following the birth of our second son, my husband noticed that my self esteem was low.  I felt poorly about how I looked and the weight I gained.  He bought me a treadmill in the hopes that I would begin to see myself the way he saw me.  It was a sweet gesture.  I remember running on the treadmill and looking away for a moment, losing my balance and flying, yes, flying off the treadmill into my living room wall.  Lesson learned, always, always look forward when on a treadmill.

 

            Fast forward a few months, I bought the Tae Bo video and once again, worked out in my basement.  I followed that video for several months, until I started having pain in my knees and I stopped.  Then, once again, life got in the way.  My husband worked shift work and the kids needed my attention.  My exercise needs were tossed aside.  Years passed and my exercise needs were still put off.  Something I regret now because it would have helped me during those times when being a stay at home mom made me miss the outside world.

 

            Then, my life changed drastically on November 20, 2007, when my lovely daughter died suddenly from viral myocarditis.  She was 13 and I miss her terribly.  Months went by and I was depressed.  I told my husband to check out a local gym because I knew that I needed to find a way to help myself and I didn’t want to be medicated.  I knew that endorphins would help me.  So my amazing husband once again came to my aid.  He signed us both up for the local Gold’s Gym and my gym family has become my second family. Four years later, I still go to the gym regularly, attending classes most of the time.  Some days, I do double classes, crazy, huh?  And I have signed up to do my first 5K in June.  Yay! Regular exercise has helped me to, not only look great on the outside at 45, but also feel great mentally and emotionally.  I know that I could not do it without the love and support from my awesome husband.  I hope that Brandon and Katie will continue to be as supportive of each other as my husband and I have been of each other.  I know that having my biggest fan at my side makes getting through every day so much easier.

 

ps – that 5k she’s doing?  She’s doing it with me! I’m a) pretty excited she’s getting out there for a run (if I don’t start getting my butt in gear she’s gonna beat me, too) and b) pretty excited about the promise of a wine date afterwards…
🙂 xo

2 Responses to “When KRH is away…”

  1. Mike Says:

    Lil … that’s an amazing story. I admire your courage and perseverance!


Leave a Reply

