Aftermath

May 9, 2012

One day post my “first” run since being on vacation/finishing the half marathon (I did a few scattered runs here and there, but nothing serious ) and I’m feeling pretty good.

Last night, despite coming up with every excuse in the book, a few friends and my guilt complex finally convinced myself to get back out the door.  I have about 5 weeks until my 10 miler and I will not handle quitting a race very well.  I also don’t want the race to destroy me, so I knew it was now or never to get serious about training.  All of these combined got me out the door and into the steady drizzle for a 4 mile run.  My legs are a little sore, but that’s to be expected.  Happily, they’re not the “oh my gosh, I cannot walk” sore that I had the very first time I went for a run outside waaaaaaaaaay back when.  So physically I feel pretty good, which is actually a lie.  Physically, even after just a day – I feel so much healthier.  Which probably has a lot to do with the mental component of working out, endorphins and what not.   But on top of it all, I have the pride of being able to say “I didn’t want to, but I did it anyways”.  Self discipline is a constant work in progress for me and its always a small victory when the discipline wins out.  And just like everyone says, one healthy decision can lead to another.  I’m really keeping an eye on my meals and trying to really understand the difference between “I’m hungry” and “I’m not stuffed full”.

I’ve also had to revamp my workout schedule.   Five weeks isn’t a long time to train, but its doable.  Because my marathon training starts at the end of the training for the 10 miler, I want to be careful and make sure I don’t injure myself.  I’m willing to sacrifice a few seconds of pace time in order to stay healthy for my marathon training.  With that in mind, I nixed the idea of back to back runs during the week.  I can always add them in if I feel ready and up for it, but until then, I don’t want to burn myself out or risk getting hurt.  I do however, need to make sure I’m physically prepared for a 10 mile run.  It sounds like it should be a no –brainer for someone who’s run a half marathon recently, but frankly I’m not so convinced.    For my training, I also feel like I’m ready to start purposefully working on upping my speed times.  I’ve always said speeds aren’t my main goal when it comes to a first time distance, but there’s always a small part of me that wants to get a little faster.  And you don’t get faster unless you push yourself to go faster.  So with all of that in mind, I whipped up a new training schedule for now through my 10 miler and then made sure to set my marathon training schedule, both based off of Hal Higdon’s training schedules.

Week

Mon

Tue

Wed

Thu

Fri

Sat

Sun

Total Mileage

1

Lift

4 miles

Yoga

2 Mile Speed intervals

Lift

7 miles

13

2

Lift

5 miles

(Negative Split)

Yoga

2 Mile Tempo

Lift

7.5 miles

14.5

3

Lift

5 miles (Negative Split)

Yoga

3 mile Speed

Lift

8.5 miles

16.5

4

Lift

6 miles

Yoga

3 mile Hill

Lift

10 miles

19

5

Lift

3 miles

3 miles

Yoga

3 mile

Lift

RACE WEEKEND

19

Because the marathon training starts right at the end of my 10 mile training, I’m using that last week of 10 miler for my first week of marathon training  – so instead of tapering, I’ll use my race as my long run for the weekend.  Make sense?

Anyone else ever throw together an “emergency” training schedule?  Its not the best, I know – but I’m not one to give up and quit either!  One thing is for certain though – I feel great after my run and think i’m finally ready to get back into it!

xo

Leave a Reply

