Rustic Pizza – for when the craving calls

June 12, 2012

Ugh.  Despite starting out right with a great body pump class, yesterday was a frustrating Monday.   I spent the day being easily annoyed and riding through a roller coaster of emotions that are pretty par for the course these days, given a tough situation at work.

I’m hoping Tuesday has some better things in store.  Its a rainy morning here in Baltimore, which I’m typically ok with – gets me more in the mood to keep my head down and work.  I’m still feeling the twinges of yesterday’s annoyances, so I’m planning to keep quiet and make my way through the day.  An easy 3 miler after work may be just what the doctor ordered…

But enough about that, lets talk about love.

B and I are undeniably in love….with pizza.    Usually when we have nothing to make pizza with.

The other night we had a serious craving for pizza and were without pizza dough, sauce AND cheese (vegan or otherwise) Although the mister nobly offered to run to the grocery store to get said ingredients or even just a frozen one, I was determined not to spend more money than we already had on groceries for the week.    So I did the next best thing…

 I improvised.

The result was a hearty and satisfying , Rustic deep dish style pizza.  Saving money has never tasted so good!

Rustic deep dish Pizza (Vegan)

Crust: Vegan drop biscuit recipe (I got mine from The Joy of Vegan Baking cookbook), spread out on a greased pie plate.

Sauce: 

1 can petite diced tomatoes, with liquid

2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast (optional)

1 can rinsed small white beans

1/4 cup dry Quinoa, cooked per instructions (I used red quinoa for this)

Directions:    

Cook quinoa according to package instructions.

While the Quinoa is cooking, simmer together the remaining filling ingredients and spice to taste with Oregano, salt, pepper and a drizzle of Balsamic vinegar.

Once the Quinoa is cooked (al dente is best!), add it to the rest of the simmering sauce until heated through.

Assemble the “pizza”  by topping the biscuit batter with the sauce and baking per the biscuit instructions.  Baking quinoa is one of my new-found favorite things to do, because the quinoa gets a little crunch and crispy on the top.

Eat it with a fork (or your hands!). There’s something so satisfying about fulfilling a craving by being creative.    Like I said, this pizza is filling and hearty and I can just imagine farmers out on the country side eating a slice or two of this to keep themselves warm and full after a hard day of work in the fall.

Enjoy!

xo

Leave a Reply

