What I learned in Yoga last night

June 14, 2012

Wednesday nights are my yoga nights and I am always amazed how my instructor seems to have the perfect class and the right words for whatever mood I’m in – I find this is generally true for most of my group classes, fyi.  Last night, I was really grateful for the chance to head to class, given my rough start to the week.  When I got there, she started the class by telling us a story from her weekend, where she got to take a class with the world’s oldest yoga teacher, Tao Porchon Lynch (read more about her here)

source

Tao is inspiring to simply read about, even more so to hear of a first hand experience with her.  So I can’t imagine what it must’ve been like to be in her presence taking a class from her.

I don’t consider myself a yogi by any stretch of the imagination.  I’m always forgetting to breath deep and am way too quick to jump to snarkiness and anxiety and worrying about a million things, but I do my best to remember some of the things I’m taught.  Beyond being a great class last night physically, it was a wonderful experience mentally.  Here are a few of the things I took to heart and am trying to incorporate into the rest of my week.

Perhaps the most poignant part of my instructor’s story last night, is when they asked Tao how she stays so healthy at such an age (she’s 93!):

1.  She never entertains negativity. I thought this was such a simple and beautiful way to put it.  And particularly relevant to where my mind was at last night.

2. She wakes up every day, knowing something good will happen.   How empowering is that?  To KNOW when you wake up that something good will happen.   When you’re so assured that something good will happen, its hard not to find it in even the smallest of things.

3.She interacts with nature at least once a day.   Even though she practices every morning, she make it a point in her day to interact with nature one way or other  I really like this idea.  We’re always moving around so quickly, that sometimes its hard to force yourself to stop and enjoy the moment and simplicity of nature.  Sometimes even a simple breeze can bring my day to a much needed pause.

There are some other great pieces of advice in the article I linked and I’m making it a point to finish out the rest of my week putting them into practice.  The entertaining negativity will be my most difficult charge, but the benefits I think, far outweigh those difficulties.   This morning I took my time waking up, practiced some 3-part breathing and gave the cats an extra scratch behind the ears.  I still made it to work on time, breakfast and all.  Maybe there’s something to this…

Happy Thursday, ya’ll! And remember, entertain no negativity.

xo

One Response to “What I learned in Yoga last night”

  1. Mike Says:

    There is a lot of wisdom in that interview – thanks for the link


Leave a Reply

