How to enjoy a seafood feast, without the seafood

June 19, 2012

When we were in Richmond earlier this month, the majority of the group sat down to a pretty hearty looking lobster feast.  I grew up eating lobster, but this time around I happily declined – but that doesn’t mean I missed out on the flavors or the fun!  With the help of some old bay and some lobster mushrooms, I got to experience our seafood feast, my way.   Zucchini crab cakes with lobster mushrooms!

This is the first I’ve ever made these guys as a Vegan dish, usually I use eggs to bind and don’t really worry about the breadcrumb ingredients.  But for my latest version, I swapped out the eggs with a flax seed egg (more fiber!) and my brother (randomly?) had soy flour on hand.  I had never even HEARD of soy flour before, but it had a nice consistency, not quite as fine as flour or bread crumbs, and I think it worked really well as a stand in.

The second change I made to my usual zucchini cakes was the addition of “lobster mushrooms”.  From what we can tell, lobster mushrooms are just nice meaty mushrooms that have some sort of red mold that grows on top, totally edible, but it gives the appearance of lobster chunks.  Since everyone else was eating lobster, I thought “when in Rome…”

The rest of the recipe was the same and here’s how I did it.

Zucchini Cakes with Lobster Mushrooms

1 medium-large zucchini, shredded and pressed to remove liquid

1 package of lobster mushrooms, prepared according to package directions (these typically come dry and I found mine at the local Kroger in Virginia hanging up along the produce section)

1 flax seed egg (1 tbsp flax seed, ground (a coffee grinder works best for this) and 3 tbsp water)

Spring onions – 1-2 finely diced, the green parts

Soy flour (breadcrumbs will also work well for this) – enough to be able to form cakes

Old Bay, to taste.

To assemble;  mix together the first 4 ingredients in a medium bowl and old bay to taste.  Add soy flour (or bread crumbs) until you can easily form cakes or patties that hold their shape.

To cook:  I like to pan fry mine in a little bit of oil, a few minutes on each side until nice and golden brown/crispy on each side.   I’m sure you could also bake yours, but i’ve always preferred the texture of nice meaty crab zucchini cakes straight from a light frying.

 

Serve with some healthy sides, your beverage of choice (might I suggest a nice glass of white?) and some really really really good friends.  I loved how the lobster mushrooms gave a real meaty texture to the cakes and the old bay is the perfect way to mimic the traditional crab cake taste! Yum 🙂

enjoy!

xo

ps- remember I told you my brother ran his first 5k with me while I was there?  Check out his recap here.

Leave a Reply

