Better late than never!

June 27, 2012

You guys, I swear I had a weekend a few days back.  I was going to post about it yesterday, but then I got offered the chance to babysit the world’s cutest little girl.  And I took it.  Can you blame me?! I thought not.  But I’m back today and as promised – drumroll please – my weekend!

Two things this weekend, that I feel should be mentioned.

A)     Things happen when I’m allowed to watch the Food Network on Saturday mornings.  Things like chocolate cake.

But ya’ll, this is my FIRST EVER chocolate cake from scratch, #1.  Number 2?  My first ever DOUBLE LAYER chocolate cake.  Isn’t she beautiful???

I’m proud to say, that even though I KNOW desserts are never going to be “healthy” persay, this is a Veganized version of a recipe from Jamie Dean (Yes, Paula Dean’s son…).  And when you can eliminate more than a stick of butter and a gajillion pounds of sugar, I call that a relatively healthy dessert.  Win. J  Now, I have a chocolate cake to eat.  Fail.

 

The SECOND fun thing that happened this weekend, was the 5k race I alluded to on Friday.  What makes this so special is that I ran it with my friend here in B’more, Lil. You know her from her ca-ray-zy gym schedules and in a few days you’ll know her for her mad tofu skillz, but today you get to know her as a newbie runner!

The race itself was HOT and sunny, even though we started at 8 AM on Sunday morning.  I say I always learn things from my races, or try to.  So what did I learn from this race?  A few things.  First, that I’m super bad at pacing myself (sorry Lil).  But the second thing I learned stems from that and from running with a friend.  Without getting into too much detail, I’m pretty sure Lil had a PR this weekend and I’m pretty sure it was because she refused to let me walk more than she did or finish before she did.  We ended up with the EXACT same time.  No joke.  We started and finished stride for stride and she, whether she realized it or not, broke through a mental/physical barrier of what she thought she’d be able to do.  She may hate me now, but I’m still proud of her 🙂

As for my weekly update of Marathon Mondays – here goes! It ain’t pretty folks –cringe-

Running: hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.  In case you DIDN’T know what that means, it means non-existent.  I can’t even remember if I ran before my 10 miler. I want to say not.  I didn’t run at all before the 5k.  And before this starts to sound like a bragging game, let me be the first to say that I feel LAZY.  And like a sluggish beast.  My schedule has gotten a little less structured lately due to a transition period at work.  And while you may think “oh that’s awesome, she can run when she wants!”, and while you may be right  – the ugly truth is, without that structure, I am completely lost! I’m trying to keep a schedule as best as possible, but I’ve been going to bed later and waking up groggy and tired.  I’ve been skipping runs and workouts.  BAD.  I know that if I want to run this upcoming Marathon in October, even though it seems far away still, I really need to start working on getting back into shape and into Marathon shape, or else its going to kick.my.butt.  I’ve made it to my Body Pump class and keep with my yoga pretty regularly (thank goodness).   Today was the first day I forced myself out of the lazy zone and go for a run.  It was a lot better than I expected, I felt strong and endurance wise not too bad – but I know its not something I can just ignore.  So here’s what I’ve decided to do.  There are 3 days left in June (side note: WHAT?!) and we’re on vacation for 2 of them, which is a whole new set of problems.  I’m going to do my best to get out for workouts each day and when I get back from Vacay, its game.on.  No excuses.

Eating:  I have been a CARB MONGER this week ya’ll.  I don’t know what is going on, but its been non-stop bread cravings.  I don’t eat a lot of it on a regular basis, so I want to believe its evened out now.  But I don’t really believe that.  I’m getting back on track with eliminating late night snacking (or trying to, darn cake!) and trying to eat more veggies and protein with each meal again.  Right now I’m on deplete the fridge of perishables duty, since my husband’s idea of lunch is a PB sandwich everyday.  Thanks babe, way to take one for the team 😉

The other biggie I NEED to get better at, is water consumption.  Lately its been more java and less aqua.  Luckily we don’t keep soda in the house, so that’s not an issue.  But its still pretty clear that I am not drinking enough water and I’m starting to feel the effects of that.  Headaches, drowsiness, always warm.  So I’m working on getting much much MUCH better at that.  I’ll keep you posted J

Whew.

Its Yoga for me tonight! Hopefully a much better practice than last weeks.  Although my anger managed to help me bang out some determined balance poses, its not something I think is smart to incorporate into a yoga practice that often.  I’m in a much better place emotionally today than last week, so fingers crossed 🙂

xo

Leave a Reply

