Tofu Trials: Tofu Parm

June 29, 2012

Hi everyone! Its FRIDAY! 🙂  And I’m hopefully making my way through the streets of St. Louis by now.  While I’m away, I thought I’d do a small segment (With some guest posts!) on a topic that I always find really interesting to talk about.

tofu.

I’m pretty sure I just saw everyone cringe.  And that’s EXACTLY what’s so interesting to me about it.  So many people have this knee jerk reaction when I mention tofu.  I used to have the same knee jerk reaction. Its…its tofu.  Its this white blob of tasteless stuff in some scary sort of liquid.  Pretty appetizing, right?  What’s funny, is that tofu can actually be pretty tasty, ifyou take the time to prepare it correctly.  And even then, its not THAT much time to prepare.  Strangely enough, it is now one of my absolute FAVORITE things to eat.  A complete 180 from my original perceptions.  Tofu can be a fun, easy and healthy addition to a meal.  And here’s the kicker, making, eating and ENJOYING tofu, doesn’t mean you’ve automatically sworn off meat for the rest of your life.  Its perfectly acceptable to appreciate and enjoy a tofu dish every now and again, without having to give up all of the other things you eat.   Its just that tofu has this strange reputation for being…something.

SO.  In an effort to change that thought process, I’ve come up with a devious little plan, called the Tofu Trials, where i’ve asked two of my non-vegetarian, “oh, its Tofu, no I can’t cook that” friends to try any tofu recipe of their choice, make it, eat it and write about it.  They didn’t have to like it, they didn’t have to not like it, I just wanted them to be honest.  The result is pretty interesting, I think 🙂  But of course, I couldn’t ask my friends to do something without participating (and who am I to pass up a chance to cook tofu).  So this week, I threw together a quick and easy summer meal, recreating one of our favorite sandwiches, the Chicken parm, with tofu.

The recipe is simple enough and like most recipes, one of the most important parts about prepping the tofu is to PRESS it.  Super easy to do, and there’s a great example of pressing in a later post.  But this helps to drain out and get rid of any excess liquid that may make your tofu mushy when its cooking.  While I don’t mind it as much, most people aren’t big fans of it.

After I pressed the tofu, I made nice thin slices, dipped them in some almond milk and then coated them in a self-made breading mixture of flour, spices and nutritional yeast.  After that it was into a hot grill pan with some “made it in a hurry marinara” (a simple recipe of tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, tadaaaaaaaaaaa).

Check out those grill marks!

Once they were properly cooked on all sides, its as easy sub roll, tofu, sauce, chomp.

Literally!

I sprinkled some nutritional yeast on top and served it with a side of sauted’ squash/zucs and onion. mmmmMMMMMmmmmm.

Did I mention it makes great leftovers for lunch the next day? Its a bogo deal for meals!

So there you have it! A simple and easy meal that you can make with tofu chicken or even eggplant.  New to tofu or just want to join in the fun?  Cook up a tofu dish and write about it, message it to me or leave a link in the comments if you blog about it.  Happy weekend!! 🙂

xo

 

 

2 Responses to “Tofu Trials: Tofu Parm”

  1. Ben Says:

    You are correct, pressing is important. It allows the tofu to absorb the flavors of the marinade or what ever you cooking it with. I use the EZ Tofu Press…video link below, it shows the press in action.


Leave a Reply

