Garlic and Balsamic Grilled Veggies with Couscous

July 10, 2012

Last week while we were away in St. Louis, I had a delicious salad topped with roasted veggies like eggplant, squash and zucchini and a side of the most delicious garlic balsamic vinaigrette.  When “substantial salad” went up on the menu for the week, I had it in my mind to try and recreate it.

The most important part of course, being the garlic balsamic dressing.    For my first attempt at the dressing I mixed together equal parts balsamic and olive oil (probably could’ve gone with less balsamic), some salt and pepper, oregano and two cloves of garlic, plus some onion and garlic powder.  I mixed it up and let it sit for a bit to let all of the flavors infuse, before drizzling it over the veggies for the afternoon.

Unfortunately, even the best laid plans can be brought to a halt by none other than old moldy lettuce.  Whoops.  But at this point, I already had my veggies soaking in my homemade version of the vinaigrette.  Instead of grumbling, I improvised and came up with what I think was a satisfying and delicious summer meal anyhow.

I cooked up the veggies in my grill pan as planned, but added some Field Roast Apple Sage sausages cut into little rounds.  Ever since  our trip to Richmond and the bulk section splurge, I’ve been trying to experiment with different grains.  Would you believe i’ve never had Pearl Couscous???  So to rectify the situation,  while the veggies were cooking up I turned to my trusty Rice Cooker and popped in the aforementioned couscous.   Even if I couldn’t have a salad, I was still going to have those veggies!

 

 

The couscous came out perfectly cooked from  the rice cooker and I helped the consistency just enough with a splash of hemp milk, some salt and pepper.  Turns out, its a perfect stage for the marinated veggies and sausage.  With a side of corn on the cob, it was summertime perfection!  Not shown is the (way too expensive) bag of cherries I put a serious hurting on – mmmm summer!

The leftovers tasted great with some sauted’ brussel sprouts and kale this afternoon for lunch, perfect fuel to get me through the rest of the day, a workout and finally settling down  tonight to watch the All Star Baseball game.

Happy Tuesday!!

xo

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

