Rest days

July 12, 2012

Rest days.

Rest days are VERRRRY hard for me.  I have an extremely active guilt complex and despite knowing that rest days are super important, especially when training for things, I can’t be the only person out there that finds them to be counter intuitive at times.  How can taking days OFF from working out, help you get BETTER at working out.   Its not that I don’t know the answers to questions like that, its just that sometimes they’re hard to accept.

And today, in case you couldn’t tell, is one of my rest days for the week.  And today, in case you couldn’t tell, i’m feeling particularly guilty about taking one.  I think part of this, is because I’m just starting to get back into the workout routine and I’m worried that by taking my day off, I’ll wind up back at square one.  But, in the name of good training, I am forcing myself to not workout today.  My muscles are sore and I know I could use the break.  Constant lifting, yoga’ing and cardio’ing, plus a long hilly walk last night has me beat.

So instead of working out, I treated myself to some kitchen time.

 

Making treats like these. No bake Chocolate Mocha cookies, ala one of my new favorite dessert blogs.   Don’t judge.

 

 

Although I can’t take credit for the recipe, I did make a few changes, mostly using regular flour instead of oat flour and upping the protein content by adding replacing the remaining 2 Tbsps of flour with Hemp Protein powder instead.   I also used up the last of my dark chocolate with cacao nibs bar instead of breaking into my chocolate chip stash.   The final switch was using instant espresso powder, rather than instant coffee, which I think may have added just a bit more of the flavor than coffee would have, but I can’t say for certain.

The cookies are small, but I couldn’t eat more than one of them, I don’t think.  They’re extremely rich, due to the dark chocolate and espresso powder, but that’s ok with me!  I’d rather have a few small bites of delicious than a lot of bites of “meh”.

 

You know, since its a rest day, and all.

 

Don’t judge.

xo

3 Responses to “Rest days”

  1. Dominick S. Says:

    I hear you on the rest days…right now I feel like I can do more but I think once the real long runs hit (the 15+) I will be extremely thankful and probably hoping for more. This looks nasty by the way but I bet its tasty.

    • krhtoday Says:

      Ha! Haven’t you learned that comments like that mean you never get to try things that are tasty?? You are right though, I almost didn’t post it. That’s my mantra, make food that tastes good, but looks awful so I can have it all to myself 🙂 are you signing up for any races to incorporate your long runs?

      • Dominick S. Says:

        That is such a girl thing to do…my girlfriend buys coconut water and light Muscle Milk because she knows I won’t touch them.

        As for the race…thanks for the reminder, I have been meaning to look since Hal suggests that Week 13 I run 13 miles at marathon pace and that it would be a good weekend to race a half marathon if there is one!


Leave a Reply

