Another weekend, come and gone.

July 16, 2012

It was definitely a “for me” kind of weekend, I got a hair cut, indulged in some retail therapy, took advantage of a networking opportunity (super outside my comfort zone) and here’s what else.

As for my Marathon Monday updates, I’m slowly getting back into the swing of things (which is scary to me, because I don’t have much time to do things slowly if I want to run this Marathon).  I’m going to train for it to the best of my ability, but be smart about it too, if I’m physically not ready to run the race, I have to be mentally ready to admit that.  It doesn’t mean I’ll give up on the goal, its been made public as a point on my bucket list.  But for now, I’ll do my best to continue training.

Workouts:  For the past week, I’ve been battling what I think is a mild case of Bells Palsy.  Its a scary phrase to say partial paralysis of the face.  I woke up Monday morning last week and suddenly only half of my smile worked and I couldn’t close my eye fully.  This results in a sore jaw (if I try to talk a lot), sloppy eating (corn on the cob becomes dinner and a show for B) and a dry eye from time to time.  Add to all of this a frustrating inability to fall asleep and then STAY asleep, last week was rough, on both the psyche and the workout plan.  The good news is that first and foremost, it will get better and it IS getting better.  I still feel like a jerk that I can’t smile when I go out in public and its also kind of embarrassing, and even though I can close my eye, I can’t do it fully yet. So its really just a waiting game.  My friend said “when someone up there decides its time for you to slow down for a bit, they make sure you do”.  And that’s really what i’m taking this experience as.  Trying to rest a little more than usual and let my body heal.  BUT, that’s not to say I haven’t tried to stay healthy.  Although I haven’t made it to the gym for my body pump or yoga sessions (hoping to change that this week!), I lifted at home and did some yoga at home each day.  I also made it to the gym for some cardio, since running outside isn’t too smart, given my eye (the breeze dries it out and if something gets in my eye, I can’t blink it out).  I got in a good elliptical and treadmill workout.  Despite not being my favorite piece of equipment for distance runs, the treadmill does help with speed intervals .

Food:  I made a conscious effort this week to try and sneak in veggies for lunch and dinner and to snack on fresh fruit when I do snack.  I’ve also been drinking a lot of water lately and am glad to be back on my water weekdays kick.  Even though I’ve been skipping out on the salads these days, I’m still getting a ton of veggies in through simple veggie sautes for lunch and sneaking them in at dinner.

 

And that’s about it!  How was your weekend??

xo

 

ps – for those of you keeping track of my Katie Learns to Cook series, I know I skipped yesterday, even though I had the chapter fully read (bad me!).   With the mindset of the weekend, it just felt better not having that as something I had to do.  I’ll have it up this week though and fully plan on staying on track as we continue!

2 Responses to “Another weekend, come and gone.”

  1. Dominick S. Says:

    Sounds like you are getting some serious bumps in the road, I hope things get a little less hectic and you find a groove (as they say, ps I hate “they”). My weekend was good…training away like you, but with less bumps .

  2. krhtoday Says:

    ugh, man you have no idea. These past few months have been a roller coaster! I’m glad your training is going better than mine 🙂 I’m hoping to have it all sorted out by the end of the month. Hope you got in some good golf!


Leave a Reply

