Healthier Choice = Healthier Start

August 20, 2012

Oh man.

I had such an enjoyable weekend.  I relaxed with an old Black & White movie late on Friday night.  Have you ever seen Little Women, from the 1930s, I believe?  Katharine Hepburn stars in it and it has renewed my love of the story.  I adore the ’90s version and of course, the book is fantastic – i’m looking forward to re-reading it.

I enjoyed some drinks ala – husband this weekend too.  We had homebrews (the latest is a Kolsch, although he’s brewing a Vanilla Porter and a Pumpkin beer as we speak!) and as a surprise he made me one of my favorite cocktails, a Buzz Aldrin.  Which is glorified tang, in a martini glass.  See also: delicious.

I even got some WORK done.  Which, as surprising as it sounds, was enjoyable.  Its nice to feel productive again.  Ask me again in a few weeks, but for now, I’m going to enjoy the feeling.

All said and done, it was a great way to end a great week and start off what I hope will be an even  better one.  I’ve said more than a few times, that I hope and anticipate that with the return of an everyday schedule, I’ll also see the return of a healthier lifestyle and workout routine.  Well, you guys – I am STILL SORE from Wednesday night’s yoga class.  I could say “oh, the instructor taught a GREAT class” and she did, honest.  But truth be told, this soreness?  Well, its all on me.  Yoga classes are supposed to be reflective and relaxing.  It was both of those for me, but not in the classic “i’m so relaxed” after yoga way.   The class was ROUGH guys, for me.   I struggled with balance poses, I struggled with holding poses and came away with a very potent reminder of the consequences that come with not maintaining a healthy lifestyle.  Dramatic?  Maybe a little.  But sometimes a little drama is what you need in order to kick your butt back into gear.  I took for granted the body I had worked hard to shape for the past 8 months and after 1.5 months, I’m starting to see it slip back away.  What’s even scarier?  Is seeing that return of complacency and laziness.   For me, laziness begets laziness these days and that’s bad.  But i’m just tired and sore.    But excuses are no more.   I’ve made big efforts this past week to get back to a healthier eating style, salads for lunch, water during the day and really avoiding those things which I’ve found just aren’t appealing anymore.  Right now, for me that’s dairy annnnnnd baked delicious.

We’ve had a few weekends of friends over, so there’s been a lot of fun breakfast and brunch things sitting around the house.   The problem with that, is that I tend to enjoy the leftovers and of course, crave those kind of foods more and more and more.  I’ve weaned myself off of snacking during the afternoon and put myself back onto water.  But this weekend I woke up with that now familiar “hmmm…what would be fun and tasty to bake for breakfast”.  Not MAKE  guys, BAKE.  Now.  I am all for the occasional delicious breakfast, but for me personally, weekends in a row of cinnamon buns and potato hashes, muffins etc., just aren’t going to work.  And truth be told, when I woke up, while my initial instinct was to whip up a batch of muffins, coffee cake or easy cinnamon rolls, I had to stop myself and actually think.    Here’s what I came up with:

1.  I wasn’t really THAT hungry

2.  None of the things I was “craving” actually sounded like something I WANTED, when I really thought about it.

3.  Why did I still hurt so much from Yoga?

When I thought about it, what I was really craving was healthy, a little bit of sweet and refreshing.  So what I came up with, was this:

Helloooo delicious.

Thats right.  Another batch of homemade granola.  I had been snacking on some my mother in law brought with her last weekend.  And when it was gone, I was a little dejected.  So in the end, I made myself a batch on Saturday morning and instead of a carby and sugar heavy breakfast, I enjoyed a healthy and delicious brunch of granola.  100% worth the wait.  Cold almond milk supplied the “refreshing” and maple syrup and cinnamon satisfied that sweet craving I was having and as for healthy?

The last time, I made a PB & Chocolate chip batch.  For this go ’round, I used almonds and walnuts, maple syrup & cinnamon, a touch of oil and added in some goodies like hemp seeds and Maca Root powder to boost the nutrition info.    What I got was a delicious, comparatively healthy breakfast food, that will last me for the rest of the week.  If that’s not a healthy start, I’m at a loss.   Besides.

Its hard to beat something that looks so pretty when its stored.

Making healthier choices this week?

xo

3 Responses to “Healthier Choice = Healthier Start”

  1. Dominick S. Says:

    I need to get on the healthier breakfast options band wagon, I could also stand to jump on the salad train a little more frequently. Hopefully your next Yoga class is much less destructive!

    • krhtoday Says:

      Hey, I think as long as your breakfasts don’t all look like your photo from the other weekend, you’re doing ok! Salads are a great lunch, but can take some time to throw together if you like them with a lot of stuff in them! If I can move my muscles after this morning’s lifting class, I’ll be satisfied. Thanks 🙂

      • Dominick S. Says:

        No, my breakfast usually looks like a bowl of Raisin Nut Bran and a coffee M-F. On the weekend it is usually a little worse on Sunday. I think I need more steel cut oats though instead of cereal…and more sit ups.


Leave a Reply

