Working on it

August 30, 2012

Staying in shape is no joke.  Getting back in shape is no joke either.

I pride myself on being fairly healthy.  Sure I have a few swings in the opposite direction every now and then, but for the most part, I’m a healthy gal.  But that doesn’t mean I can take 1.5 months off and stay “in shape”. 

After what felt like a serious roller coaster of a ride with work, I landed myself in a temporary (for now) fix that has been one of the better decisions I’ve ever made.  Which means all those other annoying little parts of my life could promptly settle themselves back into place, right?

Ha.

I am not a patient person guys.   So naturally, I wanted everything to go back to how it was.  Waking up first thing in the morning for a 5:45-6 am gym class or run, have a day of healthy nutritious snacks, a dinner I was proud of, rinse and repeat.  I loved how I felt, how my routine was, how those little things could give me a burst of endorphins. 

Having the rest of my life fall back into routine hasn’t been easy.  Jumping right back into it isn’t reasonable.  My body fights back, demands sleep, food and comfort.  It threatens to get sick and walk in waddle format for the rest of the week after a first day back to lifting.  So I’ve resorted to slowly working myself back into it.   

I started with my food.  Focusing on healthy again.  And slowly, but surely its been working.  I’m starting to crave bowls of whole grains, tofu and veggies again, (especially after a weekend at home).  Salads are once again an [almost] daily part of my routine and for breakfast this past Monday, I had a green smoothie that reminded me how horribly out of practice I am at making them. 

Next I worked on getting back to the gym and balancing that with some sleep.  This one took some effort, and I’m still not back to my 3 a week classes, but I’ve made it back to Monday Body Pump for the past 2 weeks.  The first week was ROUGH.  Moving hurt for a good week afterwards.  But this week, I was just a little tight – nothing I couldn’t handle.  Thankfully no movement was impaired after this session.   So I felt good about adding in Yoga last night and tomorrow night round 2 of Body Pump. 

The hardest part about all of this, has been losing a lot of my cardio endurance.  It really has reminded me how this stuff is not to be taken for granted.  Its also reminded me how much we’re programmed to enjoy not doing anything and can easily justify taking just one more day to prepare yourself.  Tuesday night I had finally had enough of the excuses and the guilt afterwards.  And pushed myself to get back to the gym, despite a long day at work.  35 minutes of elliptical later, I was satisfied – but also sad.   I used to think “35 minutes, ok a short little workout” and now I was trying to figure out how to occupy myself for that long. 

Out of all of this though, there have been some good things.  For instance, I’ve realized mentally that I don’t like how it feels to be lazy, especially after knowing how it feels to be in pretty darn good shape.  I know what I prefer and I know the kind of hard work and dedication it takes to achieve that.  For awhile, my goals were driven by successfully running races, a 5k, a 10k, a half marathon.  I even started out for running a full marathon early this summer, but just couldn’t find the motivation to do it.  Needless to say, I won’t be running it this year.  But what I did do, is find a different reason for that drive, which I think is a bit more important.  I still think I’d like to run a marathon, its still on my bucket list. But when I do it, the race won’t be my sole motivation for getting out to the gym or hitting the pavement.   I think I figured I’d get to this point eventually, I’m just glad I have.

So yeah.  Cheers to all those folks who have decided to change their life for the healthier and have found a way to keep it up.  You’re pretty darn awesome, because its pretty darn hard.

xo

ps – College Football tonight!!!!! Who else is doing a little happy dance?

2 Responses to “Working on it”

  1. Candice Says:

    major happy dance for college football! It’s my favorite time of the year. Time to bust out all my Badger gear.

    • krhtoday Says:

      My undergrad didn’t have Football (boooo), so I’m forced to cheer for my Grad school (UVA) and my husband’s alma mater (Temple U). But that’s ok, its just fun to watch/scream at the tv 🙂


Leave a Reply

