When the Husband’s away

September 17, 2012

Ohhhhh man you guys.

B was away for the weekend having some “man-cation” time with his friends, so I was left to my own devices for 3 days.   I believe this is what Charlie Sheen was talking about when he used the phrase “winning”.

Other than a brief hiatus that involved ginormous apples, a few wrong turns and a ton of laughs with my friend, Lil (shout out, complete), I spent the majority of my weekend in the kitchen.  I literally went to 4 different grocery stores this weekend – I was in absolute heaven.  My freezer is now stocked with some home cooked goodies. I was also at an orchard, that has resulted in a bag of apples this big:

 

Needless to say, there will be massive amounts of apple consumption this week.  Massive.Amounts.  Anyone have any suggestions???

But I think the highlight of my weekend, was my lunch on Sunday.  Having spent my morning in the kitchen working on (Yup, you guessed it, apple recipes), I took a break to catch up on some episodes of The Pioneer Woman on the Food Network.  I found myself watching an episode of her making what looked like amazing Bruschetta (you can find the recipe she used, here. )  Appropriately, it was an episode about what she eats when her family is out of town for the weekend.  I think it was a sign.  A delicious, tomatey, basily sign.

 

I’m not usually a big fan of balsamic vinegar, I don’t mind it, but for regular cooking I tend to reach for vinegars like my Umeboshi, white wine, red wine,, malt or apple cider vinegars.  But for some reason, this just sounded so perfect.  I let my tomatoes and basil (from my porch garden!) marinate in some balsamic and garlic/olive oil mix for about an hour before moving on.

A pan, some earth balance and two  generous slices of Ciabatta bread later – well…I think we know where this is going.

get in mah bellay

Do you ever squeal when something you make looks like how its supposed to make?  Yeah.  I did.

I’ve never made homemade bruschetta before and I think part of that is because the store bought stuff or stuff at the restaurants has been overly tomatoey and very reminiscent of canned tomatoes.  With the nice big slices of bread pan seared in some earth balance, the sauted garlic (soooo good), fresh basil and MY control of the flavor ratios, I was in absolute heaven for lunch.

Perfect break for a Sunday lunch.

As for Monday, I woke up this morning and appear to be fighting off the starts of a cold. Achy and stuffy. In an attempt to give my body the upper hand, I opted to sleep in instead of pushing to go to bodypump. I’ve got a green smoothie with wheatgrass powder, mangos, bananas and flax milk with a new energy bite flavor to help me through the morning, an extra swig if coffee with some hemp milk and a lunch bag filled with healthy foods to boot. Good thing.I have all those apples…

How was your weekend??

xo

 

Leave a Reply

