Redemption

September 25, 2012

After this weekend’s kitchen flop-a-palooza, I was in some serious need of culinary redemption.   I’m pretty hard on myself, so I wanted to get back in right away on Sunday night, but if I’ve learnt anything, its to never. EVER.  cook when you’re angry.  And Sunday definitely fit that bill.

Enter, last night’s dinner.

 

“Cheezy” Quinoa stuffed Portobella Caps.

I wasn’t following a specific recipe and they certainly weren’t perfect, but I’d say they definitely fall under “redemption” category.

Cheezy” Quinoa Stuffed Portobella Caps (Makes 3 bella caps)

1/2 cup dry quinoa, cooked according to instructions (I used a rice cooker)

1/2 onion, finely chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

3 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast (I think?)

6 Tbsp Almond Milk

2 Tbsp Flour

Cherry Tomatoes, sliced (optional)

3 Portobella caps

Salt & Pepper

Instructions:  While the quinoa is cooking, saute the onion and garlic until translucent.  Add the cooked quinoa, milk, flour , Nutritional yeast, salt & pepper on low heat and stir until combined.  You can tailor the amount of milk (and nutritional yeast) to your preferred taste and consistency.  Clean your bella caps of all the “gills” to leave room for stuffing, massage in some olive oil (*See notes below) and pile it in!  I topped my stuffing with sliced cherry tomatoes to brighten up the flavors just a bit and baked the caps at 350 until they were done (no more than 25-30 minutes).

Served with a side of sauted zucchini and squash, these were a perfect way to start off the week!

 

They just look good.  🙂  Needless to say I was pretty proud of how these turned out.  The past few times I’ve made stuffed bella caps, they haven’t stayed “stuffed” very well.  I think scraping the inside of the ‘shrooms out prior to stuffing them really helped and minimizing the liquid without sacrificing some creaminess helped to maintain that “cheezy” consistency.   That being said, there are a few things I would change when repeating the recipe.

The bellas were juicy, but I didn’t marinate them in anything before I stuffed them so they didn’t have a lot of flavor.  To change this I’m thinking of one of  the following options:

1.  Balsamic Vinegar

2.  Earth balance

3.  Hot sauce

4.  layer the tomatoes

I don’t think I’d marinate the whole shroom before baking, but I think a dash of vinegar or hot sauce (depending on the flavor you’re going for) or a little slap of Earth Balance in the cup of the mushroom would help add some flavor to each bite.

One of my favorite parts of this dish was the little slices of tomatoes.  They really do brighten up the flavors quite a bit and I found myself wanting a little tomato in each bite.  So next time I may layer the bottom with one large tomato slice to make that happen.

I think something that I’m particularly proud of is that even though these weren’t perfect, i’m ok with that – because I have ideas on how to make it better.  Which is a whole lightyear ahead of where I was even just a few short months ago.

xo

 

2 Responses to “Redemption”

  1. Dominick S. Says:

    Maybe I can adapt this for a cheesy quinoa stuff pepper instead!


Leave a Reply

