Fluffy and healthy!

October 11, 2012

This is what happens when you read recipes for Vegan pancakes while having a sweet tooth craving in the middle of the day, after having read another chapter of a book on macrobiotics.

It was flipping delicious.  Just goes to show that even with a general idea for meals in mind, sometimes cravings just win out.  I tried to keep my plate a little healthier (but lets be real, they’re PANCAKES, earth balance and maple syrup covered pancakes) with a big side of a Bulgur wheat, wilted spinach and apple sage field roast sausage (ah-may-zing).  At least for that night, it was the perfect balance of healthy and satisfying a random craving. 

Side note: I am known as one of the worst pancake makers, ever.  Never fluffy and sometimes I add weird things (like cinnamon, the HORRORS 😉 ).  So with all that said, I have to give a huge shout out to my beloved The Joy of Vegan Baking cookbook, because the recipe included for pancakes has allowed me some fluffy redemption in the eyes of my husband.  Breakfast cooker status, restored.

These guys were fluffy, tasty and a cinch to whip up.  No major steps and no need for a vegan egg replacer, which for some reason made me pretty darn happy. 

xo

Leave a Reply

