Examples

November 2, 2012

Since I’ve been chatting away lately about how I’ve been trying to tweak how I eat – I thought I’d show some of my favorite “macro style” bowls I’ve been whipping together this past week or so.  Since my husband isn’t quite on board with the “kale for life!” train yet, I try not make too many of these in a row right now, even though once I get started with them, they’re all I crave!

For this plate, I roasted up some sweet potatoes and tossed them with some lightly sauted asparagus and ume vinegar.  A big side of steamed kale for me, some black beans with a drizzle of olive oil, garlic powder and some turkish spices and some creamy polenta with roasted garlic. 

When leftover pizza was on the menu for Brandon, I whipped up a bowl of barley and black rice, steamed kale and zucchini, sauted portobellas, corn and roman beans (and of course, the ever present Ume Plum Vinegar, I cannot get enough of it lately!).  The great part about making bowls like this on a semi-regular basis, is that I can make a bit batch of grains, all different kinds if i’m feeling crazy, and just pick and choose from them during the week without much prep time involved.  I”m newly in love with beans too, because I never eat a whole can by myself in one sitting.  So these were leftover from a night prior.  Veggies, grains and protein – boom, meal!

I remember this bowl pretty clearly.   It was getting late, (hence the dark photo) and I had no clue what I wanted for dinner, but I knew I needed to eat something.  I forced myself to start by steaming some kale and baby bok choy, making the deal that if I ate that, i’d be satisfied.  Well, like most deals go – once I started, I warmed up to the idea of a little more nutrition thrown in, so I tossed in a few roman beans for some protein.  Which got me thinking that maybe a little savory wouldn’t be too bad, so I sauted up a portabella cap to throw in.  That’s it.  The meal itself was done in about 5 minutes.  And it was 100% satisfying, not too heavy to eat so late at night, and nourishing – which is exactly what I needed! 

So there you have it! 3 super easy “macro” style dinners that are all a little different, but all really really tasty.  I even spent a few minutes to whip one up for lunch today, some leftover sweet and sour tofu from the whole foods hot bar last night (must.learn.how.), some steamed kale and baby bok choy (I have a problem) and some rice (I love my rice cooker).  A touch of soy sauce and chili paste and I have a meal worth looking forward to, even when i’m feeling under the weather!

Happy weekend, friends!

xo

Leave a Reply

