2013

January 2, 2013

A little bleary eyed this morning, sipping on cup #2 (back to decaf, scandalous!).  

Its been a deliciously awesome 1.5 weeks of family, late nights, coffee in my pjs, a few movies, college football, WAY too much food, friends and some fun DIY projects (mostly crocheting). 

Our Christmas was as crazy as it always is and we spent New Years Eve in our (now traditional) favorite way, with our friends by a bonfire and a big dinner.  I was sad to see Christmas go, but by the time NYE rolled around, I was ready to keep moving on.  2012 was an interesting year – it had some major ups and major downs:

I lost a job that I needed, but hated BUT I found a new job that I needed and love. 

I trained for and successfully ran a half marathon and a handful of other races, but didn’t really keep up with it during the summer and subsequent months. 

I shifted from a pretty (self-imposed) limited vegetarian diet to embracing and exploring a whole new set of food options and turned Vegan in the process!

I experienced what was probably one of the happiest days of my life and married a good guy who does a lot for me (despite my snarking) – I am lucky.

I got to watch a TON of baseball, including a Playoff game for the O’s.

I got serious about my cc debt and got my finances in order and have kept them in order.

And now the obligatory “look back”- I made a few resolutions last year and its time to see how well I did, especially before I figure out how well I need to do for 2013 😉

https://krhtoday.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/resolutions/

Looking back on how I felt about 2012 and comparing that to how I wanted 2012 to go, I’m really happy with how I’ve surprisingly grew as a person.  I can also look back and giggle a bit about how there are somethings that are clearly hard to change:

Its really funny for me to see my resolution for balance.  I can remember being so unhappy at that point in my life, especially with work.  My constant struggle to find “balance” finally ended when I left and started a new job.  I still put in long hard days at work, but I come home and do things that I want to do project wise.  I think balance is still an important thing to strive and work for, but I truly believe that a lot of that comes naturally when you’re in a good place.

With last year’s relative success, its time to turn forward to 2013.  I’m honestly pretty excited about the potential this year has.  I have a blank slate on the horizon, which leaves room for new goals.  Last year, most of our time and efforts were dedicated to planning, paying for and experiencing our wedding, finding a new job and getting my finances in order.  This year, those three things have (mostly) been taken care of.  So now what do we work for?  Here goes!

1.  Save save save! I am really starting to enjoy seeing the accrual of money each month in my checking account.  It took me forever to get where I’m at today, but I feel so much more like an adult for having gone through what I did to get there. I really want to take a serious look at my spending in the future and try to save money when and where I can.

2.  House!  We’re to the point now, where we’re a little sick of living above or below someone.  A lot of the money saving this year will be directed towards looking for our first house.

3.  Books:  I am firmly resolving to not buy any more books until I’ve finished the (near million or so) that I already have.  This will be a near Herculean task, as I have a slight obsession with books.  But I’m determined to make it through at least January.

4.  Projects – My sewing machine still has yet to see the light of day in Baltimore.  So shameful.

I have so many other thoughts swirling around in my head about what I want to work on, get better at, do more of, do less of.  But I think I’ve set some really good goals for myself for 2013.   All day yesterday and NYE, I had this feeling of anticipation and excitement for this upcoming year.  I hope it turns out to be a good sign!

Sorry for the book of a post – but these types are mandatory every now and again, no?  🙂

Raising a virtual (and day late) toast to everyone to wish them a wonderful new year!

xo

2 Responses to “2013”

  1. Dominick S. Says:

    Happy New Year to you too! Good list of goals and may 2013 be a little less up and down, but even better than 2012!


Leave a Reply

