Monday mishmash

January 14, 2013

When I was in college, one of my favorite meals to get was the pizza burger option.  So on Thursday night, when I was trying to figure out what to whip up for dinner using the things we had, I was a little excited when pizza sauce, frozen homemade veggie burgers and pita pockets made the list.  Super easy to make and probably easily modified.  For this option I kept it simple with  pizza sauce and melted “cheese”, next time, maybe i’ll go for some sauted onions and mushrooms.  Served with a side of my continued obsession, “cheezy” kale and sweet potatos.  Husband approved!

In other food news, while we were out this weekend, I grabbed some Almond Milk GREEK style yogurt to try (for the record, I have not been compensated in anyway for this mention, just raving about something new i’ve tried)  When I used to eat dairy, greek yogurt would be a go-to snack for me.  I never really liked the flavor or texture of non-dairy yogurt, so I simply avoided it.  But this “So Delicious” Almond Milk Greek style yogurt is awesome.  I started with Vanilla and truthfully, its like eating a thick vanilla custard, with no funny aftertastes that I sometimes get with non-dairy yogurt.   I sliced a bit of banana into it for lunch today and it was a nice guilt free dessert.  Honestly, its been so long since i’ve had this kind of texture, that eating a full serving is almost difficult.  And there’s definitely enough there to leave some for the afternoon.  Ive only been able to find the yogurt in one place and we don’t go there all that often, which makes this a perfect little “treat” for those days I feel like being a little indulgent.   Has anyone else tried it?

Other than that, our weekend was pretty standard and a bit lazy.  We got in a walk during some of the nicer – non-rainy weather, enjoyed a few DIY projects and the football this weekend really could not be beat, so many exciting (if not slightly anxiety ridden) games to watch.  I re-established my love for the BBC murder mystery series Inspector Lewis and put together a quickie Champagne Cocktail for a Sunday night treat.   I had some thoughts to get in dedicated workout time, but that gave way to a walk with B and some relaxing.  I am starting to get that itch to get moving and am seriously contemplating my brother’s offer to run a 10k with him in April. 

Here’s hoping for a far less tedious and agonizingly slow week than last week, eh?

🙂

xo

2 Responses to “Monday mishmash”

  1. Dominick S. Says:

    Pizza burger sounds awful so I will have to take your word on this one. I go through phases with yogurt, if I see it, I will try it. Last but not least…run the 10k!!! What’s left to ponder!

  2. Mike Says:

    What he said – run the 10K!


Leave a Reply

