Finished!

January 23, 2013

Ya’ll, my to-do list was a mile long today.  Which makes for a long Wednesday with no yoga (at a studio, at least), but the productivity is 100% worth it. 

In other and more fun news, I finished my crochet project last night!  I was a little nervous about it, since general guidelines aside, I went from scratch with this puppy – but I’m super happy with how it turned out.  I have this beautiful soft grey yarn that I picked up and wanted to make a wearable, but unique hat out of it.  I didn’t like any of the designs online for what I had in mind, so I just went with what I thought might look nice together.  For my first go at it, I think it went pretty well. 

image

For you crocheters out there, I decided to crochet from the brim, UP as opposed to the top down.  The brim was stitched as one long band and sewed together to make the base of the hat.  And since I liked the stitches for the brim (front post single crochets), I used the same style stitches for the hat, alternating between single and dbl back post crochet  stitches, which would end up being perpendicular to the stitches on the brim.   Since its my first time using any of these stitches, I just sort’ve went with it, without truly knowing how it would turn out.

image

tadaaa!

image

close up of the stitches

I really like it!  Its wearable, unique and WARM, a huge plus for the chilly weather everyone’s been having lately.

image

Its just long enough for my head, but can also be worn back a bit for that slouchy beanie style, or with the brim folded up for a slightly dressier look. 

I’m super glad to have it done, although now that its finished, i’m itching to get another project back on a hook! 

I hope everyone is staying warm this week, it is COLD out.  I’m ever so grateful to be coming home to a crockput full of homemade soup and the opportunity for some at-home yoga alone in my room.

xo

One Response to “Finished!”

  1. Dominick S. Says:

    Pretty awesome first attempt! Looks great.


Leave a Reply

