The (not so) triumphant return to decaf?

July 17, 2013

Last year, I made the “eh, why not” decision to switch to decaf.  I still loved coffee in the morning, but found I didnt need the caffeine.   To be honest, its probably one of the best and most obvious to me ways of cleaning up my diet.

Fast forward to today, due to a shortage of decaf k cups at Costco, Ive been easing my way back into regular coffee fornthe last month or two.  To be honest, the caffeine did nothing to help me wake up in the morning and I always felt a little twinge of guilt each time I took another sip.  But it was coffee and it was the morning and it was habit.

image

This morning though I discovered I has accidentally left my travel mug at work.  Which meant no coffee for me until I got in and could make myself a cup of the decaf I keep tucked away in the back of my drawer.  Part of me was super excited that i had a legitimate reason for switching back to decaf.  The other parts of me were simultaneously annoyed that I needed a reason to switch back and threatening to swing into our local coffee shop and grab a cup for the road.  Equally ridiculous.   Im glad to say it didnt happen, but 2 cups of decaf later, a few bottles of water and now this cup of tea, I am dragging and headachy and definitely foggy brained.  Its crazy how even though I feel like its done me no favors in helping me to wake up, that caffeine has certainly made itself known inbmy system.  
I know that there are camps on both sides of the argument for caffeine and is it good or bad.  Personally, for me, this morning has been a really good glimpse at how even a few months of something like caffeine can have an effect, even if we cant feel it until its gone.  There are better ways to wake myself up in the morning (juicing!!)  I just feel healthier and less bogged down without the caffeine.   So fingers crossed for a relatively smooth transition back to the decaf. 

Xo

5 Responses to “The (not so) triumphant return to decaf?”

  1. trixfred30 Says:

    My wife gave up tea and coffee a few months ago and switched to herbals (ginger, lemon and honey) she swears she’s more chilled out and less anxious now. But i can’t do without a skinny caramel latte in the morning (with caffeine of course)

    • krhtoday Says:

      Herbal teas are so soothing! I try to drink some a few times a week, but that’s also due largely to the ridiculous amount of tea in my pa try 🙂

  2. Vix Says:

    Good luck with the switch back. I don’t drink decaf but I do limit my caffeine intake after a nasty and progressive OD which caused irritability, paranoia, bouts of insomnia and heart palpitations! Everything in moderation (except crafts, obviously)


Leave a Reply

