One step forward, 2 steps back

July 31, 2013

Well, after feeling great about getting back on track, putting in a solid few weeks of consistent workouts, last week was a bit of a hiccup in the plans.  

For starters, let me just say – that having not been on a bike in over a year, hopping back on one to do 54 miles, for fun, is not anyone’s smartest idea ever.  Despite being a (relatively) enjoyable trip – my body all but revolted the following week (last week).  The thought of healthy food had me gagging and my legs were WRECKED.  I took an unheard of long long nap on Sunday and craved nothing but carbs for the next 5 days (trust me, no drool-worthy meal photos to be had).  Woof.  I managed to keep it within reason, but it was a nice little reminder that you can be healthy, but not always in shape. 

My week consisted of carb heavy meals, not a lot of greens, NO workouts whatsoever, save a few hour long walks on the treadmill while Brandon worked downstairs.  Nothing high intensity.  I kept to my decaf, but shunned water and drank more sodas after that bike ride than I have in months combined.  Throw in a small mental-funk and a solid attempt at getting lost in every book on my bookshelf, I made it through at least 5-6 before the week was done.  Yeah – it was one of those kind of weeks.  

In the end, I snapped myself out of it, taking a rare Friday off and spending all of it outside weeding and breaking down a HUGE pile of tree branches.  Which, is one sure fire way to get back on the water drinking track and sneak in a solid arm, back and leg workout.  Because I FELT it the next day.  But it was good – it was sunshine, it was me, myself and I and it was productivity.   I capped off the trend with another, SHORTER, bike ride, rounding it out at 20 miles total on the seat.   Our legs were still tired from the 54 mile excursion and we definitely felt the inclines, but it was another ride and worth getting outside before the rain storms.   

We also got started on painting our master bedroom this weekend (it was a pastel purple with pastel pink clouds…clouds people, pastel pink CLOUDS).  Its only primer right now, but again, its the steps forward that i’m trying to remember and not how many more we have to take before its finished (read: a LOT).  This weekend also brought a return to healthier cooking for me – we grilled up a lot of veggies and had it with some corn on the cob (yay summer!), I threw together a homemade stirfry with tofu, eggplant, mushrooms and kale topped with some liquid aminos and sriacha.  

It was a good weekend with just enough productivity to warrant the laziness we did indulge in.  Last night I opted to cut off all forms of self-pity and took advantage of getting home early to rock my to do list. Laundry, check.  Healthy homemade (AND SO GOOD) dinner, check, lifting workout and an evening walk to enjoy the amazing weather? CHECK.  I’m a little sore this morning, so I know I needed the workout and good kick in the butt.  

Last week may have been a few steps back – but big picture, I’m still taking steps forward.  

xo 

2 Responses to “One step forward, 2 steps back”

  1. Dominick S. Says:

    Great job on checking yourself and realizing that maybe you needed an extended weekend with some alone time outside. You should’ve posted a picture of this magnificent purple and pink clouds.

    • krhtoday Says:

      haha, I had a picture somewhere, I’ll have to try and dig it out. Alone time outside was exactly what I needed, the sunburn – not so much. 🙂


Leave a Reply

